My first two days in Vietnam : Hanoi

in #travel7 years ago

My brother (@fronttowardenemy) and I recently traveled to Vietnam for a few weeks. He was wanting to finish a motorbike trip he had previously started but didn't finish due to an expired visa. I had heard so many wonderful things about Vietnam from him that of course, I jumped at the opportunity to go.

With layovers and everything it took us 24 hours to arrive in Hanoi from Portland Oregon.
We got checked into our hotel and unloaded our bags. Then, It was off in search of beer and exploring the touristy area of Hanoi called the old quarter.

20180110_213600.jpg
The view from our hotel room. I'm glad I'm not a cable guy here.

We hit the streets and wandered around just taking it all in. Everyone was out and about selling what they had to sell.

20180111_201629.jpg20180110_220250.jpg

20180111_224615.jpg

After a little wandering we found a place that had fresh beer on tap for about .45 cents a glass. Needless to say, we spent some time at this Bia Hoi location.

20180111_234720.jpg
@fronttowardsenemy checking messages and having a beer.
clean.png

The next day we were catching a sleeper bus to the city of Ha Gian. This is where out bike trip would start. We had some time to kill so off we went to find the single pillar pagoda and other touristy attractions.

20180111_204852.jpg
Found it! Near the Ho Chi Min museum.

20180111_204534.jpg20180111_214414.jpg
A communist monumentAn old gate that was attacked by the French

On our way back to the neighborhood that had our hotel, We walked through a busy area that had the foreign embassies and decorated streets.
20180111_213317.jpg
Arches into a city are a very common theme all over the country. Even the small towns.

We were getting hungry for lunch so we took a shortcut through a botanical garden to get back to our area.
20180111_211832.jpg
I should have taken more pictures here.

We stopped at an out of they way restaurant. @fronttowardenemy got the fried morning glory and I had a stir fry beef dish. Twas delicious and cheap!
20180111_220614.jpg
I was not brave enough to try any dog dishes while there.

We got back to our hotel and packed up. It was time to wait for our ride to the bus station.

20180111_024902.jpg
Our hotel, Talk to Twee about booking a room. Nice place, reasonable rates $15 a night!

A VW van came to pick us up. Little did we know, He had many others to pick up as well. How many people can you fit in a VW van you ask? We got 16 people in there! Two days in Vietnam and I already have a girl sitting on my lap.

If you think that sounds uncomfortable, Try being 6'6" on a sleeper bus built for Vietnamese people on a seven hour trip.
20180112_053553.jpg
This is my new best friend for the next seven hours... I call him Mr. Elbows

That is the end of day 2. Tomorrow we start the motorbike trip!

Keep being Cool Steemit


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Your brother must be a G.I......"front towards enemy" that is the song of my people.

Once upon a time I was an M18A1 instructor/grader for EIB. Keep having fun, looks awesome.

Ya he was in the guard for awhile and his real name is Clay Moore ;P

Are you shittin' me?

I know so many guys that would kill to have that name. I wonder if his dad was a GI with a sense of humor? LOL

I'm yanking your chain! Thats not his real name.
But he was in the guard. :)

"Mr. Elbows" haha enjoy the travels!

I was not brave enough to try any dog dishes while there.

When you talked about the two dishes that you ordered I was like huh, I don't see that on the menu I wish he would have told us how dog taste and then I scrolled down a little bit. I wouldn't have been brave enough either.

Yea we passed by a meat market that had a dog all butchered up in the window. :( Those paws.

nice! my home country! i miss the cheap beer, or bia. have you tried pho??? must try it! you won't forgive yourself if you don't

Yes we tried some pho as well as tons of other great food. Loved it!

If that are ladders? I am not sure if I would be comfortable climbing them =)

They look scary but i guess bamboo is some strong stuff :)

I feel for you mate! 6'6" on a bus here is torture 😂.

It was soo steamy. In a bad way.

Nice post. I'm an OCD curator and I want to nominate this post to our daily compilation. This could get you more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes. Reply if you accept.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Want to support OCD? Vote for @ocd-witness Steemit Witnesses

Yes indeed I accept. Thank you very much!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Have a good trip to Vietnam!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40