My digital nomad journey - Sedona

in #travel7 years ago

Quick Intro:
I started out on my journey as a digital nomad about 8 months ago (April 2017). I'm still in the middle of my journey, and I'd like to share it with others as it unfolds. However, a lot has happened since I first embarked, and I feel I have some lost ground to cover before I dive into the journey as it currently stands.

This is my attempt to share where I've been, and where I'm going. I'm having an absolute blast, and I hope to inspire others to achieve their traveling dreams, and give a bit of perspective from a financially humble, yet experience-rich lifestyle.

I'm obviously not creating an exhaustive list of the best places in the areas I cover, as it's all subjective, and I only have so many pictures worth sharing. These are just a few places I frequented. This is the beginning of my digital nomad offices series.

Office #1: Canyon Breeze - Sedona, AZ


20170408_172856.jpg
My first office on the deck of Canyon Breeze.

Office #2: Wildflower Bread Company - Sedona, AZ


20170426_140147.jpg
The struggles of choosing between work and play. Wildflower Bread Company.

Office #3: Oak Creek Espresso - Village of Oak Creek, AZ


IMG_20170406_103123.jpg

Starting point: Boulder, Colorado
Ending point: Sedona, Arizona
boulder-sedona.png

Why I left Colorado

I left Boulder, CO in April 2017 to explore the western parts of the country. I wasn't fully content with the monotonous drudgery of the corporate lifestyle I resigned to in Colorado. So I decided to quit my job and try my hand as a freelance web developer. I bought a van ('99 Chevy Astro), converted it into a customized camper, and started traveling to satiate my wanderlust and spread my freelance business.

Sedona


I drove my van through the southern parts of Colorado, northern New Mexico, and ended up in Sedona, Arizona. There were quick stops in between, like Colorado Springs and Albuquerque, but I never posted up long enough in these areas to officially declare an "office".

I'll share some locations around Sedona that I think are worth noting, but let me know if I should cover anything in between AZ and CO.

Hiking

Soldier's Pass
20170410_150110.jpg
20170410_150112.jpg

Soldier's Pass was my favorite trail by far. I revisited it dozens of times throughout the course of a couple months. I recommend this trail because of its easy access, its mild difficulty, and its immediate surreal immersion into nature. It's situated very near town, but within minutes of walking, you forget that civilization is right next to you.

Huckaby Trail
20170409_144736.jpg

Also very easy to get to from town, as it's literally right next to it. A creek runs through the middle of this trail, and you'll end up crossing it several times.

Swimming

Slide Rock State Park
20170414_145359.jpg
I know swimming isn't the first thing you think of when visiting the mountainous, rocky terrain of Sedona, but there are some really great places to swim here. Slide Rock State Park is one of them. It's $10 - $20 to get in for the day, and worth every penny. My favorite part of the park is the swimming hole, but there's also hiking as well.

20170414_145346.jpg
40 foot cliff. People for scale.

I plan to revisit Sedona as soon as spring rolls around, so let me know if there are any areas anyone would like a report on!

Sort:  

Congratulations @diginom, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that @originalworks will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @diginom! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @diginom! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41