You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mt. Everest Base Camp trek - walk among some of the highest mountains in the world

in #travel6 years ago

Lhasa in Tibet is about 4000 m. and you feel the air is thin. The first few days I had to take it easy. Walk slowly, but as we started to drive across Himalaya we did get used to it, but still had to walk slowly. But after 14 days in a hight between 4000 - 5200 m. I was acclimatized when I started the trek . I prepared by doing some walking at home before I went. The thing is to take it easy and walk slowly. That also gave us time to enjoy the view. To look at and walk among the mountains was so rewarding

Sort:  

A lot of people cannot proceed because of thin air. My friend told me, in tibet they sold medicine to help with that challenge. It must be great experienced and satisfaction of you able to conquer the mountain. Will you plan to go again if you have chance?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, they sell medicine in both Tibet and Nepal, but I was advised by my doctor to try to avoid it. Especially if, like me, I had to walk higher and higher. The effect of the medicine is that you do not notice the symptoms and therefor get altitude sickness without knowing it. The only thing that helps if you have serious symptoms, is to descend. And yes, I could do that trek again :) but first I am going to Patagonia on both the Argentinian side and the Chilean side. But it will not be any altitude to think of. Won't be climbing any mountains.

Oh.. I didn't aware of that. This was a very good advice from a doctor. I must remind my fried who plan to go there. When you walked higher and higher, do you feel headache or short of breath?

Posted using Partiko Android

Good idea to ask a doctor before going :) I felt short of breath, yes. If I walked too fast. But then I stopped or slowed down until breath was normal again. In Tibet I felt headache the first 2-3 days. I think it was because I arrived by flying in and landed directly on 4000 m. In Nepal I was fine. Hardly any symptoms.

Ah ok, normally they will take train. Then stop in middle of the village before proceed to go up. I hope one day i able to go there but worry of the pressure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65