You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vardø – The city of witchcraft in Norway

in #travel5 years ago

I did't know that either! not until I was there..I was visiting a friend. Stayed with her and we drove to some very unique and interesting places! She told me the story of the witchcraft trials and the memorial. So we went to see it. Vardø is almost in the oposite end of our long country - I live in Kristiansand in the south. took almost a day to get up there!! Had to go to Oslo first, change plane. Then to Tromsø and then Vadsø...and each time the planes got smaller and smaller.... but visiting that part, made me want to see more. It is so diferent from the south. But a flight ticket to Spain...or Italy will be cheaper!

Sort:  

Such a big country, that makes Portugal look really tiny. I can cross it by train, North to South, in an afternoon. 😂

So, is it Vardø or Vadsø? And what's up with the words ending in a zero?

hehehe...I need a whole day to cross mine! and that by plane...It can be done by train, but that will take several days!! both Vadsø and Vardø are small towns in that north-eastern corner. Vadsø is where I ended my flight. From there we drove to Vardø.... you know, in our alphabet we got the letters " æ, ø and å" ...

Over the years, Portuguese has ditched many of the weirdest things. Like the word Pharmacy. It used to be Pharmácia, but if that Ph is an F, why don't we simply use an F? For decades now, the word has been converted to Farmácia.

We still have weird things... Like a S before an I is read as a Z. I don't get why we can't simply use the Z. It's there for something.

hehe...I agree. Why not simplify when the sound is F...or the Z...similar things happens to our language as well! But languaged changes. It developes. Quite interesting though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59417.60
ETH 2672.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44