The city that smells and sounds like Art.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

You know that we, as human beings, become used to beautiful places when we see them often. Well, I don’t think this will ever happen with Firenze.

  

There are too many places to visit, too many buildings to admire and too many hidden paths to discover. Although we had only been travelling around by car, this time we left by train.  Nice journey, nice mood.  

The best way to visit Firenze is by foot because there are many corners that you can’t reach with your car. Also, I advise you not to take the bus for tourists; you will miss the fun part.We didn’t buy tickets for museums or such because of the huge crowd of people that were waiting at the entrances.  

And we made the right decision. We wandered the streets, admired the city and took many photos. 

The ice cream we ate and the granite we drank made the walk more pleasant as the sun was burning.  

After visiting Duomo and the churches, we decided to find a nice restaurant where we could enjoy delicious food. We wanted to find a place away from the crowd of tourists, so we walked for almost an hour.

A citizen sent us to a restaurant, where we ate Bistecca alla Fiorentina, which is the specific meal for Firenze and is a favorite of the Tuscan cuisine. The steak is grilled over a wood or charcoal fire, seasoned with salt, and usually it is not properly cooked, inside being a little bloody. It was a joy for our taste buds. 

Later, we crossed Ponte Vecchio, also named “The Gold Bridge”. If you want to find out what your lady’s jewel preferences are, take her there. She will have from where to choose, as the bridge is filled with valuables, most of them made with gold or precious stones.

In the meantime, the sun had set, but we didn't yet want to leave, so we made another last stop, at restaurant, where I chose to eat Pasta with Seafood. It was delicious!

On our way to the train station, we encountered some street musicians and also a man who was painting on the pavement. Such a wonderful feeling! This city smells and sounds like Art! 

Personally, before actually visiting Firenze, I was attracted by the idea that The Medici family lived here together with many artists they supported.  Among them I mention: Botticelli, Dante Alighieri, Boccaccio, Michelangelo, Donatello, Galileo Galilei and many others. 

Knowing this, aren’t you curious about where they spent their time and what inspired them to create? 

I tell you, you have to visit this city at least once in your lifetime!


Follow for more

Sort:  

beautiful scenery.... thanks for share @diana.cathrine

Thank you for introducing us to this place. Apart from making my mouth water and being blown away by the street art, I hope I can visit one day too! You did a great job keeping it simple yet exciting.

Thank you! Every time I see the photos I get a little hungry myself. And I'm sure you'll enjoy Firenze!

You're welcome! It'll be on the long list of places to visit

nice travelling

Thank you, @brunopro!

Nice post, beautiful place... Enjoy your holiday

Woow I really love the pictures, I didn't know Firenze was that beautiful, great post!

Thank you, @minion! It really is. But I think it's more enjoyable to visit it during off-season. I've visited it 3 times already. You'll see more and feel better in the city when there aren't so many tourists. :D

I have the same habit when traveling somewhere, I also tend to visit off-season only because "It's easier to breathe" and you actually get to enjoy the visit and not the crowd of tourists everywhere.

👍wow amazing travelling Diana... Have fun and enjoy ur life

This is amazing Diana, I like it a lot,beautiful!

Thank you, @the-future! I'm glad! :D

Hi Diana, nice trip :D and lovely pictures I have to say.

Bistecca alla Fiorentina is a thick steak that normally is not proper cook... I mean... normally inside is a bit bloody :D

As I told you next trip should be done in Puglia!!! After that you would like to leave you country.

Thank you, @webdeals! I will correct that. Thank you for pointing it out, I forgot to say that it is a bit bloody.
Also, I would consider visiting Puglia. I sincerely didn't hear about it before. :D

are you serious??? Check on national geographic or wherever :D type Puglia and you will see is saying one of the best area in the world!

That´s an excellent report dianna. Now I´m more likely to visit Firenze and know the architectur and places of the city.

I usually say that I live vicariously through people because I live simply so I really enjoyed the architecture and scenic photos - but DANG, as a foodie, I just want those meals in my belly! LOL

haha so my photos really do make people suddenly become hungry. I'm glad you enjoyed the article and the photos. :)

Great photos and tx for sharing your experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44