To Buy or Not to Buy a Proper Camera

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Back in the day, I used to be fascinated with photography. But not just photography - underwater photography. When I was working in a Scuba Dive shop, I was given the Digital Underwater Photography PADI specialty. It was one of the most enjoyable tasks I had done for the shop. Underwater photography is a very popular diving specialties for avid divers. Because it is more fun and dangerous to capture photos underwater. But let's face it, this hobby is very expensive.

Back then I was only using a point-and-shoot camera with an Ikelite housing, but it was still good for beginners. I was taught how to regularly adjust the white balance as the color of marine life changes as I dive deeper. You don't really want a blue or green photo of everything. The principles for good composition of underwater images, the method for taking great shots quickly without bothering the sharks too much and some practical techniques are also part of the PADI hands-on training.

It is given that if you are taking underwater photos that you should not have any buoyancy issues anymore, as it would be hard to worry about this while you are concentrating on taking fantastic photographs. And of course, safety and alertness would be important while capturing good moments underwater.

But I know that with my current project, I need to be taking HD photos both land and underwater. I need something that I could both use for landscape and marine life. I have an action camera at the moment but it is too wide and it is not really good for some specific underwater shots.

I am actually torn between buying a sophisticated DSLR camera + casing or just settle with a point-and-shoot for now. It is hard to make a decision because I also don't want to have something I can lose. If you have no idea how much a proper underwater camera is,

https://www.backscatter.com/group/Nikon-D500-Underwater-Housing

$2000+ for the casing alone, $1996.95 for the DSLR camera. That's still without the strobes and all that fancy pro accessories. So, I'm gonna bury that dream in the sand for now. But even a simple point and shoot camera, the cheapest one for HD photos, would still take a big chunk of my crypto savings. It is difficult to make a decision but I need to make asap as I should be out there for the upcoming high season (Sorry for harassing and including you all for my decision-making, this is due to budget and time constraints). The best time to take photos of everything for my website, because my target launch would be next year. I have been working hard to make everything perfect, ha! Probably better than the rest of travel booking websites of this place I've seen out there, forgive my overconfidence.

10891888_10152917454223711_8539290567896156417_n.jpg

In reality, I am more interested in taking pictures of creatures, big fish, and the underwater landscape. Though taking pictures of underwater photo hungry divers or clients would be good to make some money on the side too. Just so you know, there's some little money to be made with underwater photography. Not everyone can take proper photos underwater so it is a very nice hobby and a cool side project to take. I have met some freelance underwater photographers who can travel and make money with their hobby too. So yeah, it is a lifelong dream for me. The camera and casing would be a good investment too. And someday, I want to show to this community the beauty of our underwater world. But this is not only about underwater photography, this is about my project, my passion, and my life. I would also like to inspire people around here to be passionate about building a better future.

Any suggestions for a good but not so expensive (cheap ≠ the price above) point-and-shoot or DSLR? And if possible with an available Ikelite underwater casing, too much to ask?

Sort:  

I like your way of thinking. you do not take shortcuts to achieve your goals.
I personally think that it is worth investing in better equipment in order to save time and in the appearance of money, too. There is nothing like working with reliable equipment and then joy of its results.
I would like to give you something to advise, but I just do not know.
Good luck, and let Santa be generous to you for the upcoming holidays.

Awww thanks! Sometimes a quick big whale upvote would really make a difference to my life and my goals atm, but like you said, there's no shortcut to good things.

Happy holidays! 😊

Wow; had no idea that underwater cams were so expensive. I'm more of a writer than a photographer (Ok. Not a photographer at all!)

Perhaps a few more blogs and you'll have the $$ necessary to get what you need. I'd love to see more photos of Acapulco from under the waves!

Hehe, I am more into underwater photography actually. Best of both worlds - scuba and underwater photos.

I wish I can make $$$ more here thanks!

My entrepreneurial side says that until there is an income from your startup, anything more than "good enough" to get you towards an income is not an investment but a luxury. It's important to watch your cash reserves. Maybe there's a local operstor you can get a favour from?
My human side says sometimes you need some luxury and some hope along the journey.
Which devil is most correct? I expect a diabolika would know!

Ok I'd be more realistic for now and choose the first devil. Maybe I can pause being human lol

Not for too long.

I cant' suggest you any camera. I only know that the Sony rx100 V is a beast but also really expensive. I don't know anything about DSLR underwater photography :/

Ok thanks, no worries!

Underwater, I'd go with a GoPro. My Hero 3+ is great at underwater shots ... I'm not sure about low light though .. and I've only done shallow shots with extremely clear water .... would be interesting to know what some pros do for deeper water HD shots!

Yeah, I already have an action camera. I would be doing some research on the local market.

Wow. I really don't know shit about anything that you're looking at doing!
It seems like a good underwater camera would be a sound investment for a diver/travel guide though.
You'd kill it on Steemit with an underwater camera! (and maybe on National Geographic)

It is actually overwhelming I need to take a break. Just Steemit for now lol.

underwter photography are very difficult and dangerous.you did a great work i will just say

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by diabolika from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

have a great travel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63208.95
ETH 3084.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82