Invest in Long-Term Travel and Find Out Your Purpose in Life

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-06-19-13-40-24-490.jpg

“The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.” —Mark Twain.

I sat in the office cubicle and counting the days. I sold my things and finally decided to quit my job and travel.

That was the start of the rest of my life.

While all the young people from all over the world, mostly from Europe were taking their gap year, backpacking around South East Asia, partying and shagging in the most fun places of the world, I was trying to find my place in the corporate world. A corporate slave for years I was, but hey don’t get me wrong, I really liked my job. You know - data, reports, computer stuff and all, it was just that I felt like there was something more outside the 9-5 grind.

I couldn't relate to anyone. Friends were getting married, having kids, buying their own houses or driving their own cars, co-workers talking about promotion. I didn’t fit in. Actually, I was already growing up and not belonging. I was the outsider. I didn’t see the point of why most people like the same things and how the life pattern was just the same.

I was that kid who didn’t like other kids. I still don’t like them when they become adults. To each his own, yes. Perhaps I have another calling, perhaps I really have to find “it” out. Whatever it is. But how?

The next thing I knew, I was hitchhiking in Indonesia, getting my PADI license in Vietnam, drinking Vodka in Russia, buying my ukulele in Kuala Lumpur, almost getting killed by a Brazilian truck driver, watching the whales in Argentina, playing electric guitar in a bar in Peru, making friends with the sea lions in The Galapagos, you name it.

4 years later, I was traveling and living from one country to another. Working a bit here and there, doing some freelancing work online or just wandering aimlessly. I didn't want to make traveling lose its charm, so I was thinking why did I embark on this journey of a lifetime in the first place? I couldn’t continue going on like this. Is this what I have wished years ago, to live a nomadic lifestyle and to find out what I really want in life along the way.

C360_2017-06-19-13-41-30-487.jpg

Did you know that to do what you really want in life is the hardest thing in the world, like what you really want. But first, you have to find out what that is, identify exactly what can make you go on living and strive for that kind of life you really deserve. It is possible.

So I started traveling with that in mind, to find out my purpose. I didn’t really know what to do in the beginning, it was like diving into the unknown and just see what happens. I didn’t stop traveling until that purpose slowly unraveled itself. You just have to be alert, because once you realize what it is, that will be the epic aha moment.

Long-travel is not a bed of roses, it is full of ups and downs, opportunities on the road, last-minute decisions, the best and the worst people, hardships and excitement. In short, it is life at its finest. If you are still unsure of what you want to do in life, then perhaps long-term travel can help you arrive at it, through opportunities, people you meet on the road and rediscovering your passion.

It is an infinite possibility, treat long-term travel as an investment. Take a big leap of faith, and don’t stop traveling until you find out what your purpose is. However, long-term travel, especially that kind of travel that I did is not for the faint-hearted. It requires courage, deep inner strength, and independence. You must be able to survive the constant changes and the instability. You must be able to brave the dangers and make your way out of it. Most of the time you will be alone, but you have to learn how to enjoy your own company.

Perhaps you found out that you like to volunteer to help the animals, or you found the love of your life in another country and decided to live happily ever after, or you like to pursue your passion in music after jamming with the locals, or perhaps long-term travel gave you that perfect start-up idea. I am not going to tell you. Because whatever it is, it is for you to find it out.

Don’t be discouraged with the temporary defeats, people you meet, negativity and other difficulties you might encounter while traveling. Because if you just come back to your home country and not knowing the purpose, guess what? You might go back to the same job you don’t like anymore, plan another long escape or do the usual routine. However, it is good if you are able to find the perfect balance. But if long-term travel already showed you your purpose, then it will be easier for you to look forward to the future, work on the plan and use everything you have learned during your travel.

“What am I doing here?” – Arthur Rimbaud

C360_2017-06-19-13-43-12-179.jpg

Sort:  

Wow...

I can rely a lot to your writting.

I was working from home and was happy that I escaped the 9-5 trap. But I kind of lost touch with my friends when they got intto it more and more.
Which made me feel kind of isolated and lonly.

I decided to sell almost everything, bought a bagpack and started my travels. This was only 2 month ago and but for now the only thing I regret is not doing it earlier.

I hear you. At the beginning, I was thinking the same thing, why I haven't done it earlier. Then later I realized that if is fine that I have done long-term traveling later on. I guess I have to experience fully the normal stuff, conforming to the society until I got tired of it. Now is my time. But hey, it's better to know the purpose later as we are ready to move on with out lives. We'd be much wiser.

Yes very true.

I am excited and scared shitless what the future holds. So I guess it is the right thing to do for now.

The worst case is I go back "home" after a while with a ton of new experience and a bit less money.

I got back home almost without money but full of experiences. Those experiences nobody can take away from you. As long as you have a plan or a definite purpose when you go back, you'd be able to pick yourself up again in time. But don't worry much about the future.

Hey diabolical,

Really nice post. Thank you
I travel also around the World. This is amazing experience in my life. I am now in Asia, I love it. I wish you a great a journey.

Dora

Have fun traveling around Asia. Thanks!

Spot on! :)

I feel you! But also, these things don't have to be mutually exclusive. I know several wonderful women who have little ones and still travel. As translocalists, they learn the language and really become part of the community either enrolling their children in "kita" or schools abroad, or "worldschooling" them—another concept that totally excites me. I love the idea of radically new ways of living especially for women, and new ways of raising children so that instead of being ushered into complacency, they learn to thrive.

I Love this post, already read it twice, I really think your note about getting what you really want in life and going for it is one of the hardest things not life. I like one quote by Marianne Williamson that I think relates to this ; "Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?' Actually, who are you not to be? " . Well surely you must have asked yourself this question, because the fact is, only we ourselves set our limits. So good for you to break out of this bubble that 99 percent of people live in , and I am looking forward to more posts from you !

Thank you very much for your insightful comment.

The only way to get somewhere is to decide that we're not gonna stay where we are.

Take that big step!

You are absolutely right my friend. There's nothing more important than gettin to know yourself. Keep up. I would love to read more!

Thanks for reading, I will post more. I am unstoppable. :)

I've been yearning to travel for a few years. Your words are inspirinng. Are your yearly expenses low while travelling constantly?

Yes because I was mostly doing volunteering, freelancing job online, couchsurfing, hitchhiking until I got tired. The first year, I was only spending money on food, entrance fees to the sites and beer. Thanks for reading!

Congratulations @diabolika! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much!

Hello, please follow the rules in steemit group to share your post there ☺ and then I will approve !

after 4.5 months of travelling to 28 countries, I decided my purpose in life is to travel no more than 3 weeks at a time and only when I have a nice buffer in the bank account so I do not run out of money during or after the trip. It's good to have some sort of savings instead of running up credit cards.

Yes that is good one. It's nice to travel with some security blanket or keep our savings untouched. It somehow takes away the anxiety while traveling.

Balance is the key!

Really enjoyed your article! Upvote&resteemed:) I just posted a story about my experience long term abroad. Would love to hear your opinion!

I will definitely check that out, and give you my opinion. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52