Free Yourself - The Path to Freedom

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

C360_2017-07-05-11-30-43-309.jpg

“I have found both freedom and safety in my madness; the freedom of loneliness and the safety from being understood, for those who understand us enslave something in us.”
― Kahlil Gibran,

I remember the smell of fresh air, the breathtaking view of the snow-capped mountains of the Patagonia. I can see the river carved the landscape below. The ceaselessly flowing water, or was it just tears streaming down my face?

This is how it is to be free, doing the things that really make me happy. Things that make feel alive and go scream in madness. I can be myself.

Do you remember those times when you laugh so hard about something? A funny movie perhaps. Can you hear yourself sing as you play the guitar? Or that time when you were about to jump from the cliff towards the cold water of the sea, did you feel so alive? Those times when you were not feeling anything but the present moment. Those moments when you weren’t really thinking anything, suddenly you forgot to be sad, worried, stressed out because you were so focused on whatever you were doing at the moment.

You die to the past - this is the beginning of your freedom.

I have felt this when I was traveling. I have witnessed nature at its best, such beauty with all my lifetime to appreciate. I have never felt that I belong to the world outside anyway, all the noise, the people, the smoke. I’m nothing but an outsider. I found freedom in my own madness. I am the mad girl trapped in a body pretending to be like everyone else. Here in nature, I found solace. I can run freely until my legs get so tired, with no one to judge. I can stare in awe without thinking, just appreciating the beauty the surrounds me. I felt the massive space of the earth, the power of the mighty Condor soaring above me, and all the other things below me that seemed so tiny now.

I am free. I am free to feel whatever I want. I can feel happy, lonely, excited or scared whenever I want. I no longer live up to people’s expectations, I have my own life to live.

This was what I needed - freedom. It is such a big burden for some people, which I can understand. Imagine having the sole responsibility to take care of yourself, to do whatever you want without causing harm to others, to think for yourself, to be carefree. People do not like that kind of responsibility, as for some it could be too much.

Perfect company or perfect solitude. I can enjoy the company of a few good people, perhaps merge all our freedom together. But I’m not scared to lose anyone anymore because I don’t own anyone. I don’t own anything and I have nothing to lose.

I am free.

“Man is condemned to be free; because once thrown into the world, he is responsible for everything he does.
It is up to you to give [life] a meaning.”
― Jean-Paul Sartre

Sort:  

I know exactly where you have been although I myself have never made it to Patagonia. I have felt the peace in the solace I found when I placed myself in complete connection to my surrounding nature as much as I have felt the endless freedom to simply be myself with my heart and nothing else... What I brought back from such journeys is absolutely priceless. I practice being there again and again in my mind so that I may achieve those moments of feeling happy and satisfied with myself and my life in my reality and not just in another place and time.

I agree @anavictoriakong, we need to get in touch with the reality and create a life we don't need to escape from. Just enjoy what we have.

I guess when your content with what you have you are truly free, life is a blessing and what we make of it is completely down to us. Success and failure lies within is striving for your goals will give us freedom, but everything takes time.

Freedom is beautiful! There's moments in all of our lives we all taste it. @diabolika

I agree @jawaida. We all have the freedom to choose what's the best for our lives, to be content with what we already have or to strive more to have that kind of life we deserve. The choice is ours.

Anything worthwhile takes times.

"You are so free you can choose bondage" - Abraham Hicks

so inspiring.. and be free and live to the fullest.

Once you have fathomed the scope of the existence you were brought into, you realise you are only the Universe observing itself. Live freely. Follow your own values and self explorations regardless of where they take you. Life is a journey, not a destination.

Lovely post as always :)

Very enlightening, thank you @harrynewman. Life's a journey...

Steemit is a journey!

Very nice post and I love the quote (paraphrased) that it is up to us to give life meaning.

Thank you for reading @team101

hit is @bobiecayao again, following always your post..another inspiring articles you have.

Amazing, nice post, do not forget view my post, now i upvote and follow you, follow me back, thanks you, may we be good friends, best regards

Great article. Staying in a place or held down by unnecessary responsibility always made me feel like I was in prison, line a programmed world. Traveling, meeting new people and places, trying new things always give me this inner peace and freedom to be the greatest I can be.

SIA: Like a bird set free!

Exactly! Stay free @eazybee :)

Many years ago I found myself in South Africa looking across the bay at Table Mountain in the distance. I sat there on my own for a few hours with no disturbances except the waves, the wind and the occasional bird. I have never know such peace and oneness with the world - pure bliss. Thanks for the post - Patagonia looks awesome!

I agree @greenstart, we should return to nature and silently commune with the mountains, trees, birds and the sky. It helps us to become aware of our surroundings, and enjoy the present moment.

Patagonia is a special place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37