A Walk in the Park, California Style!

in #travel6 years ago

Time to hit the pavement again! Not everyday is "a walk in the park," but we can always enjoy the days that are... right?!

20180621_120344.jpg

Thanks @tattoodjay for getting us all out the door and walking around our neighborhoods for a #WednesdayWalk!

20180621_120310.jpg

Welcome to sunny Los Angeles! Let's take a tour of beautiful Echo Park!

20180621_120315.jpg

One of the most enjoyable things about re-locating to a new city is making new friends who live in interesting places you've never been to before. I have a new friend who lives in the Echo Park neighborhood in LA, so now I have a reason to visit the area and explore.

20180621_120529.jpg

From what she tells me, the area used to be "slightly sketchy." As in... there have been multiple dead bodies pulled from the gorgeous little pond you see. But now the hipsters have moved in, they cleaned up the pond, installed some Swan shaped boat rentals, and you'd never even think twice about might be lurking beneath as you paddle around on your little white swan ;)

20180621_120835.jpg

In fact, it is such a gathering spot for people to walk, jog, have lunch, tai chi, paddle, that finding a parking spot will probably be your biggest challenge.

20180621_120642.jpg

Love the skyline! And the houses on the sides of the hills in LA.

20180621_120827.jpg

Next time I may turn my "walk" into a "paddle" around the Park, and rent us a swan for an hour ;)

steemusafooter.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Sort:  

Looks like such a beautiful park but I hone the stories are either urban false myths or the pond was dredged lolthanks for joining Wednesday Walk tip!

We can only hope and imagine what the pond truly holds. Hopefully not much more than tadpoles ;)

I like ot believe its all clean and pure :)

Not to bad for being surrounded by a large population.

I wonder if the people who live within walking distance take time out of there busy lives to enjoy it a few times a week. Looks like a few of them could just walk on down rent out one of them swan boats and be on the water for a while!

I know, right!? I lived on the beach for a few years and truly enjoyed it. However, I did notice that the fabulous view from my window wasn't appreciated with the same awe as time went by. We take so much for granted when it becomes "commonplace."

So true, I've always wanted mountain views and one day I might just try and live somewhere where I can get them. I'm sure after a while it will just became every day life and even forgotten about as the back drop. Some times you just got take time out of the day to notice the little things again that make an area so wonderful.

Well said. I have mountains in the backdrop where I live now in California. Since I lived in the flat land of Illinois so long, sometimes the fact that there are mountains still surprises me. But it's getting more "normal" with each passing day. Like you said, we have to consciously take pause and look around sometimes,

Well said. I have mountains in the backdrop where I live now in California. Since I lived in the flat land of Illinois so long, sometimes the fact that there are mountains still surprises me. But it's getting more "normal" with each passing day. Like you said, we have to consciously take pause and look around sometimes,

interesting to check that out greenery everywhere that just makes me happy :D

Hi @denisechips! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50