41. First day in Austin

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

For 100 days, I'm going to publish a plus-minus hundred-word post a day on Steemit. These 100 posts will be the insights, routines, and habits of living a better life.

(PS: I'm replacing the next few days with my journey to Austin, Texas.)


It was great to finally land at Austin after a long 30-hour flight. Thanks to my fellow colleague at Sumo, Matt, picking me up from the airport to the Airbnb I've booked.

The first thing I did after some unpacking is a 10-hour straight sleep.

After a good night sleep, it's time to explore Austin a little on Sunday before heading into the office tomorrow.

My first plan was to find out how to walk from my stay to the Sumo office. It wasn't too far from where I stay to Sumo. It took about 15 minutes for me to walk there. On the way to check out the office, I stumble across Cuvee Coffee. This was the coffee shop I first learned about on YouTube when they made a video about their cold brew coffee.

IMG_0792.JPG

I decided to hop in to get a glass of cold brew coffee and spent an hour reading there before I move on because it was still early. It was strange to be the only few Asians in a coffee shop for the first time.

Sumo's office is two blocks from Cuvee Coffee so I quickly moved on to explore other parts of Austin. (According to Matt, I'm staying in what known as the East Side of Austin. And I was walking toward Downtown Austin.)

Here are some photos when I was in Downtown Austin.

IMG_0781.JPG

The streets are still quiet early in the morning.

IMG_0782.JPG

The only places were packed are coffee shops and parks. I bumped into two cabin crews whose were on the same flight here. Unfortunately, I didn't take any photo with them.

IMG_0783.JPG

Passed by a church as I walked around.

IMG_0784.JPG

After 20 minutes, I arrived at the Texas States Capitol. The building is huge and the entire area includes the park is board.

IMG_0788.JPG

The Texas African American History Memorial.

IMG_0789.JPG

This monument is about the history of Spanish Mexican in Texas.

I spent about an hour walking around at the park of the Texas State Capitol. Reflecting on the cultural differences of Malaysia and America, at the same time, thinking about how I ended up here. It was a great experience for me to be here.

At the same time, it felt strange to be here. After my formal education, most of what I consumed and learned are from the United States. The coffee culture I picked up when I was a barista. The web design and coding courses I went through. The books I read. The influencers I followed. The audience I write for.

It felt strange because it didn't feel strange and novel to be here for the first time.

Okay, let's get back to my journey. After visiting the Texas State Capitol, I decided to go home earlier for some work. On the way back to my stay, I stopped at a Mexican taco food truck for lunch.

IMG_0790.JPG

Thanks to Duolingo, I can understand most of the Spanish words here. I've been learning and practicing Spanish on Duolingo for over two months now and can finally make some good use of it. (ps: I'm still far from speaking fluently.)

IMG_0791.JPG

Last photo: a delicious Al Pasto taco—according to the menu. I have no idea what "Al Pastor" means.

I did visit a grocery to get bottled water and some food for dinner at home. It's all work after this and a good rest early before checking in to Sumo for the first time tomorrow.

steem.gif

Sort:  

Awesome! Welcome to the USA! Austin is a cool place. Al pastor is schwarma style tacos. So good! Can’t wait to hear more about your trip.

Great post. Like the pictures of cathedral, Capitol building and monument very much. 😊
Is that a slice of avocado in Al Pasto taco ?

Congratulations @deanyeong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @deanyeong! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72