DTube - Exploring Lombok, Indonesia - Abandoned Villa

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I was in Bali last year and it was my 2nd time there. I love Bali but I wanted to explore more of Indonesia since it has thousands of islands. The one directly to the east of Bali is called Lombok and is fairly easy to get to so I decided to go there without much of a plan and see where it got me.


Click photo above to view video

After the unpleasant ferry ride over there, I checked into a hostel. The next day I rented a scooter to do some exploring. I ran into a few other travelers that were staying at the same hostel as me so we decided to explore together.

We drove through Mataram, Lombok's main city, and stopped at the Islamic Center, the biggest mosque on the island.

20170115_120147.jpg

After that, we decided to check out a popular waterfall that I had heard about so we drove about an hour to that. Once there, we found out that foreigners aren't allowed in without a guide. This is fairly common practice in Lombok. Just a way for them to make some extra money. But most of us weren't willing to pay the 4 or 5 dollars per person for the guide so I saw another waterfall marked on my map app and I suggested we check that out.

There were no marked trails for this waterfall and I'm pretty sure it was on someone's land. When we parked our bikes, the local kids ran over to us because they were curious. They led us to the waterfall, which wasn't anything special, but the story is what made it fun.

20170115_155712.jpg

For sunset, one of the girls suggested we go to an abandoned villa. I had never heard of it so we drove along the coast to find it. There it was: Villa Hantu (Ghost Villa). It was being built on the cliff face overlooking the ocean but the construction on it stopped. Great place to watch the sunset when it's not obscured by rain clouds.

Stay tuned for more spontaneous adventures from Lombok.

Have you been to Indonesia?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's TravelDigest

Thank you so much for that! :)

Nice impressions! Lombok was my second home for a couple of years. This year I will visit the island again and seems like some things have changed already. I can see they made "Villa Hantu" a sightseeing spot now :D

Oh, that's cool that you used to be there a lot. Villa Hantu is really popular with the locals to just hang out and take selfies.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=qv1knxy4


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I haven't been to Indonesia, but it's high on my list along with the Philippines! Great post man. Keep it up!

Thanks. Indonesia is awesome. So is the Philippines.

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Thanks for the reco. I hope your AI improves to where I am recommended on posts that are more similar or in the same category as mine.

I've never landed my feet to Lombok, I might but it's still not in my list. Also, the villa hantu is common in Indonesia and I dare not to go there. Mainly because I often felt apprehensive of such place. Nonetheless, I can always recommend this to a friend who's visiting Lombok.

Have a great day @daveonarrival!
Macchiata.

There are many good places in Lombok. Thanks for the comment! :)

Bebek means duck, so it means it was written by a duck that don't like love.
Hard to imagine how beautiful this villa would look like if they had build it.
Nice Vlog.

Yes, it would be very beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66989.78
ETH 3524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69