DTube - The Best Hidden Gem in Laos - Pha Hon Kham

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

One more from Vang Vieng, Laos. I said in my previous post how beautiful this country is and Vang Vieng may be the most beautiful town in the country.

This video is sort of a continuation of my last one. After my twin brother, Joe, and I visited the Blue Lagoon just outside of Vang Vieng, we noticed a small sign that said "viewpoint" and it pointed to a less traveled fork in the road so, being the curious twins we are, we wanted to see what this thing was about.

Breathtaking ss.jpg

Click photo above to view video^^^^^

We rode our bikes down the dirt and gravel roadway that was partially filled up with water. Karsts towered over us on our right hand side. After about 1.5 kms we saw another sign pointing us down a mud road to get to this viewpoint. Our bikes could barely make it through the thick and slimy muck and it got all over my feet that were just in flip flops.

20160705_163422.jpg

We're climbing THAT???

We found where the trail to the viewpoint began and we parked our bikes there for a small fee. I quickly realized I was not in the proper footwear for this hike. It was very steep, very rocky, and my feet were slipping out of my flip flops from all the slippery mud. I couldn't take them off because the rocks were very sharp. But, somehow I managed to scramble up my way to the top after about 30 to 45 minutes. It was probably really pathetic to watch. Just ask my brother who was in sandals that were attached to his feet.

The view from the top was UNREAL! My eyes could barely fathom it. How does one process this much beauty all at once? I still haven't figured that out.

20160705_173039.jpg

Is this real life? Is this just fantasy?

The top is full of razor sharp rocks, so we had to be careful where we stepped. There was a small wooden hut to sit and relax in, though it was hard to do with all the bugs trying to eat us. We were the only ones there to enjoy this incredible view. We could pretty much see everything surrounding us. The farmers planting their rice and tilling their paddies, a whole ridge of karsts making a sort of pocket for the small town, the rainforests in the valleys, the road that we peddled our bikes on... I could go on.

This may be the best thing to do in Laos because it's free (minus the parking fee), hardly anyone knows about it, and "the beauty is astronomical", according to Joe.

20160705_172718.jpg

If you're in Laos, definitely do this while you are in Vang Vieng.

Would you climb to this viewpoint? Let me know in the comments.

Follow me for more adventures from all around the world.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=qbpygk0n


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It looks dangerous isn't it ? But the view looks also stunning with that lush landscapes

Dammit. I went tubing with everyone else!

I should have done that too. Next time I'm there I will.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

:D Thank you for letting me know

I have so much to say but all I'll say is...You climbed THAT in flip flops?!? 😮

Didn't think I'd be climbing a karst that day. I did it, though.

Thanks @daveonarrival for another blast from my past! Never got to this amazing viewpoint but I have many fond memories of time spent in Vang Vieng. I too got stuck on the tubing merry-go-round!! :)

I should have done the tubing too. I should go back there cuz I liked it so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74