DTube - That Time I Failed on a Downhill Scooter

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I tried researching how it became a thing. Who's bright idea was it to put bicycle wheels on a scooter and say "I want to zoom down a mountain on this"? I really have no idea when or how it happened. The only thing I could find is that there are races and even a world championship for these big scooters, also known as footbikes.

Of course, I was like, "well, cool! This looks fun." However, I did not know exactly how tough they were to handle. It's not like riding a bicycle.


Let me back up a bit. This was an activity that I was provided with by Czech Tourism on the blogger FAM trip I did in the Jeseniky Mountains of the Czech Republic. You can Czech out some of my other videos from this trip here and here. After spending the night in a TV transmitter tower at the top of a mountain, we went to the next mountain over where there is a reservoir dug out of the peak to produce hydroelectric power. From there, we picked out our death scooters to get us down this mountain. But it was nice that they were in bright and happy colors to make you feel better about your life decision. Just be sure to pick one out that has functioning brakes because one of our group had one where they barely worked. Oh, and then they give you a little pamphlet with emergency numbers on them and then say "have fun".

vlcsnap-2018-10-07-14h27m54s589.png

So, I was on my happy little way on my two wheels trying to capture some footage of the experience... with a GoPro stick in my hand... this was my first mistake. I soon found out that there is no room on these things for anything less than full concentration and both hands on the handlebars and both brakes being utilized.

So I wiped out.

vlcsnap-2018-10-07-14h28m52s894.png
Me flying through the air apparently accepting the fate I walked right into

It could have been A LOT worse, but yeah... I could quickly pick myself back up and keep going and that's what I did, receiving tissues and Polysporin along the way. Also visiting the medic's office once I got to the bottom where they applied some sort of second skin type thing that was a really pretty blue-green color that didn't wash off. So I had sort of a temporary tattoo.

vlcsnap-2018-10-07-14h31m08s851.png

I guess, the moral of this story is to test out a new toy before using one of your hands to film the experience. The more you know...

Would you ride a scooter down a mountain?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

While watching your Dtube I'm feeling a ride on this bike myself. Then I saw your mini accident and I was like may be not. lol

Happy Dtubing :)

Just keep both hands on the bars and you'll be fine, haha.

I'll remember your advice when I go an adventure like this :)

Happy Steeming :)

If it has two wheels; it is cycling; and we'll help you! Take care on the adventures.

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

I'll be more careful next time. :) Thank you.

Haha, it happens, luckly the GoPro survived to tell the story.

Oooooooouch @daveonarrival, but I must admit that the fall picture was worth some blood hahahaha

I discovered your page just now, already liking it.

Glad you like it. I'm glad i caught the fall on camera, otherwise it'd be all pain with nothing to show for it,

Hahah, sure I did like it, I just feel like I would have an urge to pedal or something, but it surely looks like a nice experience.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=o4ui9gir


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ouch! Wouldn't a bike have been a better option?

And miss out on all the fun? Haha. I'm a sucker for trying new things.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #337. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

I probably shouldn't have laughed so hard but I did... Haha! Sorry man, thanks for sharing that though. The crashing frame/photo from the vid is classic.

I can laugh about it too.

I think there was a tiny clue in the number of scuffs on the handlebars when you first picked it up! Great video. But probably not a sport I'll be taking up!

That's very observant of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87