My Amsterdam

in #travel7 years ago

Hello everyone! My name is Daniel and I am new on Steemit. Good morning if it is morning or good evening if it is evening where you are! (a modest attempt to joke). Anyway have a nice weekend!
My first post on this platform isn’t a greeting on “introduce yourself” page, it’s a post devoted to the topic of travelling because I really adore to travel and don’t want to lose time when I can share my experience and feelings about places I have been to. I will not describe the sights or touristic routes- there much of it in travel books. Of course, all written below is my individual opinion))
DSC03516.JPGToday I want to speak about my trip to the Netherlands.To be honest, after my previous trips to Spain, Italy and Czech, Amsterdam became a cultural shock for me! The first thing that came to my mind was that people seemed to be very busy and, probably, “cold” to everything around them. But it was a great mistake of mine…
The next day I lost my way to the hotel and decided to ask for help. I started to look above a map for someone, when unexpectedly a heard from behind “Can I help you? ” That was a man who stopped his bicycle just to offer help! That was my pleasant discovery- the Dutch are very nice and helpful people, thogh it is difficult to understand it for the first time. By the way you should be very careful as there are thousands of bicyclists around, like a non-stop Tour-de-France, but it is cool, actually, that these people think about ecology and keep fit.
Another thing that amazed my was the weather- it was high wind all 3 late spring days I was in Amsterdam! So I really missed a wool sweater or a warm coat. I should have guessed why there are so many windmills in that country )) DSC03521.JPG
And, finally, a few word about the hotel I was living in. It was an old typical-dutch house close to the centre. And the thing I loved there was… stairs! Imagine a 360 degree-twist till the !top floor, especially with 2 suitcases after a long journey ))
To sum up, is was wonderful for me to explore one of the most outstanding European countries, which is truly nice. Hope you liked my note and thanks for reading)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit! Glad to hear you liked Amsterdam, I've heard before that people think we're kind of cold and distant but that's just because they haven't met the right Dutchies yet. İt's nice to see that were not all that bad :)

Yes, I am happy I understood that thing about the Netherlands ))

Ecology? We call that 'lack of parking space' here in the city ;) but I'm glad you have a good time here.

Ok)) Thanks for the truth hahaha

Congratulations @danielis! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @danielis! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61865.17
ETH 3411.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48