Tourism booming in Czech Republic: more than 10 million foreign visitors last year!

in #travel6 years ago

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

I am really happy to inform you that tourism was booming in my homeland last year. According to the Czech Tourism agency, the country was visited by more than 10 million foreign tourists in 2017, which is almost the same number as the total population of the entire country.

shutterstock_321982211.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, image: DR Travel Photo and Video

While most foreign tourists still stay in Prague, the Czech capital, more and more people also travel to other regions of the country, which is a great news as there are many amazing places outside Prague that are definitely worth visiting too. If you check my posts regularly, I am sure you know some of these hidden gems from my Travel Tips.

This year, my country will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the foundation of Czechoslovakia and although this state actually does not exist anymore (Czechoslovakia split into the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic, two separate countries, in 1993), it will be a very important event for my country. There will be numerous happenings, parades and events held all over the Czech Republic (and Slovakia too of course), which is expected to attract even more tourists this year.

shutterstock_354214022.jpg
Source: Shutterstock, image: Kalamurzing

The Czech Tourism agency estimates this year will particularly witness an enormous increase (up to 50 %) in arrivals from some Asian countries such as China, South Korea and India.

How about you, my Steemit fellows? Have you visited the Czech Republic yet? If so, make sure to share your photos from the trip with us in my daily Prague/Czech Republic photo challenge.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge – YEARLY WINNER OF 2017 – PRICE OF 150 SBD: vote for your favorite picture - December winner @crazy-daisy

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge – YEARLY WINNER OF 2017 – PRICE OF 150 SBD: vote for your favorite picture - November winner @joythewanderer

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge – YEARLY WINNER OF 2017 – PRICE OF 150 SBD: vote for your favorite picture - October winner @justdentist

Travel Tip: Trebic, beautiful historic town surrounded by breathtaking nature


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

Prag is absolutely gorgeous and always worth a visit. Great beer and nice people all stuffed in a lovely city with a nice atmosphere.

That's so many!? To compare it with my country it's twice as many people as there are Living in Denmark!

I know right? Quite insane number.. and if the number really increses by 50% this year as estimated then it will be really crazy.... Good times to explore the rest of the country instead:)....

Yeah, I can't even imagine 15 million tourists in one City in a year on top of the people who already live there!? But the rest of the country is beautiful 😁

I am traveling to Poland on Monday. May visit Prague. Airbnb has some great deals right by the old town square. Great city with long culture. Thanks for the post and keep them coming please. @chechglobalhosts

Good to hear. Take some pics so you can participate in my challenges. Enjoy!

I went to Prague last year for Thanksgiving. Absolutely loved the place. I want to try and make it back there again this year to visit the friends I made on my trip. I also love shooting models in that city...everywhere is so beautiful!

ALC P 14.jpg

Is this your personal pic? If so and you have not participated in my photo sharing contest you should check it out! You get to share your pics for decent upvotes. Have a great day. Tomas

Yes it is my pic :) And I think I just shared this in a different post. Not sure if it was in your contest, but I have lots from that trip, hehe.

Cool. I'll be going to the Czech Republic this summer with a whole bunch of other bloggers and video creators for TBEX in Ostrava. I'll be seeing other parts of the country as well. I'll follow you to get more insight before I get there.

Make sure to take some good pics so you can participate in my challenges:)

In 1993 I was in 8th Standard and I read in my social studies book about Czechoslovakia. Now after 25 years I came to know the exact history of your homeland:
100th anniversary of the foundation of Czechoslovakia and although this state actually does not exist anymore (Czechoslovakia split into the Czech Republic and Slovak Republic, two separate countries, in 1993).

@czechglobalhosts Many Many Advance Congratulations on the 100th Anniversary on foundation of your homeland!

Thank you so much! Very nice of you. Tomas

I am one of them who loves your country so much. I had the best honeymoon ever :)))

Glad to hear that! Feel free to share your pics in my contest that is held on daily basis. Have a great day. Tomas

wow..... do you really mean almost the countries population visited the country last year, that really large....... I have always seen Czech Republic as a nice country to be visited....
Happy 100th anniversary of the foundation of Czechoslovakia in advance

I know right, compared with the number of inhabitants the nubmer of tourist is insane.

Really it,s a great post,
I also came to a really nice place in the Czech Republic.
Thanks for sharing @czechglobalhosts Resteemed.

Oh g that great news...Loved the picture of Czech Republic it so beautiful and great place to visit...loved to visit it someday...Thanks for picture and the traveltips about Czech Republic...@czechglobalhosts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34