Prague/Czech Republic - Tuesday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!

in #travel6 years ago

WARNING: The use of images that are not your own on which you claim the ownership will be flagged and/or reported to @steemcleaners - HELPING TO STOP PLAGIARISM ON STEEMIT


Hello fellow Steemians,

I hope you are all having a great day! :) As usually, I am here with my daily photo challenge where you can submit your personal images from your travels to Prague and other locations in the Czech Republic in the comment section below.

The best 15 entries of the day will get my upvote. I will then pick the absolute winner of the day from these 15 photos. The winning photo will be awarded with a bigger upvote and it will also be featured as the cover image for the challenge post the next day to give the author of the winning shot some more exposure and publicity.

Don’t forget to add a short background story for your entry with at least 30 words and let me just remind you one more time that only personal images will be accepted in the challenge.

There were many great entries submitted in the yesterday Prague/Czech Republic photo challenge and I had a hard time picking the best one. After a deliberate consideration, however, I decided to choose the following entry by @libork:

The Leaning Church of St. Peter of Alcantara. The ground near Karviná where this church stands has sunk by 37 meters in just a few decades due to the collapse of mine tunnels underground. Nowadays, the church leans almost as much as the world-famous Leaning Tower of Pisa, and it has become a unique tourist attraction.

DQmSaM4hmVn1AD6np8qsgpRiZaGDVdJy1Dgus7YiP3EdPS6_1680x8400.jpg
Click on the image for a large view

I rewarded @libork winning entry with some extra upvote. Feel free to visit his blog and check out some of his other entries.

Thank you for your submissions. Have a great day and keep on Steeming!


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Czech Republic commemorating the 73 anniversary of the Prague Uprising

Collection of some of the most amazing photos from Prague/Czech Republic submitted recently by your fellow Steemians

ColorChallenge - Indigo Saturday - @stabilowl in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Saturday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

It's been awhile since I've posted in here because I've pretty much exhausted the photos I took during my October 2017 visit to Prague. But I still have a few left to share, like this one. I was traveling here for business, but I had a full day to explore. So I ended up taking a four hour walk through Old Town in the afternoon until the sunset. I quickly discovered that standing on the bridges connecting Old Town to New Town were a great place to get a wonderful angle of this picturesque city.
PragueCityscape2.JPG

Hi Matt, nice photo. I've also run out of photos to post and you'll see I have the same scenery as you... just at a with worse and with worse light. ;) PS Only got there after sundown unfortunately.

Ha! I guess that means we need to go back to Prague!

Absolutely... ;)

I think you guy definitely should:)....

IMG_1677.jpg
Still inside the Chateau Valtice cellar. This cellar can date back to 1947. Yes it is older than even my parents😂. It has really got a lot of history to offer. I was surprised to hear that the cold temperature of the place is natural. Well i am not too surprised because i know cellars are deep underground.
Enjoy this beautiful shot.

That is a pretty stunning image. I am very fond of that place and visit South Moravian Region at least once a year. We are just planning the trip there with my friends. There are many amazing wine cellars all over the place but this one amongst the best. Wonderful entry to be featured in today´s edition. Tomas

PS: What is the label at the bottom right corner?

Thank you for appreciating this work. It is indeed a nice place to visit.

The label is "horticultor excursionist". It is the label for our photography. We are students studying horticulture and love travelling to places of interest.

Thank you for your explanation. I just hope this truly is your image and no-one elses´ since I have not seen you using this label before.

Nice photo. Is it not suppose to become warmer as you go deeper under ground? Maybe not in the top layer, but I know it gets pretty work in mines because of their depth. ;)

These giant bronze sculptures of birds can be found at the top of the Bird Hill in the historic center of Opava. Created by the renowned Silesian artist Kurt Gebauer, the sculptures are interactive - they rotate their heads, make sounds and have glowing eyes :) The building in the background is the Minorite Monastery.

IMG_20180501_133812.jpg

IMGP0406.JPG
This picture I took few days ago in a small village close to Třinec and close to border with Poland. It's a prefect place to relax but also you can hike to some mountains around.

Great image! This is something very typical in smaller villages and town.

Thank you :)

_MG_3993.jpg

In Vratislav near Lovosice there are remains of medieval castle Skalka. Only a tower was preserved from the 14th century castle. After the 30th year war was directly beside the castle built Baroque castle. From the foot of the tower there is a beautiful view of the surroundings.

Augustinian Monastery, Prague 2, Vysehrad, photos from Albertov slopes.
P1070415.JPG
When photographing Prague, I often think how the city would look if the later Emperor Charles perished in his first battle ...
You see a later rebuilding from the Baroque period, 1660 - 1668. Besides the Hussites Emperor Josef II was the main destroyer of the monasteries. He canceled this one in 1784 and used the building for the hospital.

Prague is a very interesting city, especially for those who like architecture and history. In this photo I show an unusual building with a very interesting classical façade. Showing some elaborated sculptures and paintings. This yellow colour is very common in the buildings of Prague.

Similar to Matt (aka @schmidthappens) I've already posted all my best photos of Prague. That being said, even the 'not so good photos' of Prague speaks to me and beckons me to go back to the epic city. I took this photo of the Vltava river just after sunset... I see it's got the same building as Matt's photo, but at a worse angle and with worse light. ;)

IMG_9470.JPG

I agree! Even okay photos of Prague are pretty great! There's still enough light in this one that I really like the soft pastels of the sky.

Přehrada Les Království3.jpg

Les Království Dam

At the time, the largest reservoir in Czechoslovakia will undergo a thorough reconstruction, which will last until the end of August 2019, when the dam will be remembered a hundred years after its completion. The first repair work has already begun. The State Enterprise of the Elbe River Basin will make almost CZK 28 million in repair. As a result of repairs, visitors will face a number of limitations, such as a popular day of open doors this year, or next year.

Vinarna Certovka Street, in the center of Prague, is the narrowest street in the city. Traffic lights have been installed for pedestrians
Appointment ? A very big word knowing that in this street it is impossible to stand side by side with each other! And yes, the narrowest street in Prague is only 50 centimeters wide (70 centimeters according to other sources), anyway to circulate on this street located in the historic district of the Czech capital, a system had to be put in place to avoid collisions between pedestrians.

Yep, that is pretty narrow:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62