Scenes along the Alaskan Coastline. 🌎

in #travel7 years ago

   Howdy fellow Steemsters.  I wanted to share a couple of neat scenes we spotted while cruising the Alaskan coast.  That area is such a beautiful part of the world, I'm kind of surprised I haven't done any posts about it yet.  One of the coolest things about the Alaskan coastline (to me) was seeing amazing, snowcapped mountains that we're used to seeing in Montana or Wyoming, stretching right out into the ocean.

   Everything was incredibly scenic.  Not just the distant mountain ranges and stuff, but also the close shoreline was beautiful.  Every few minutes, we'd come across some random streams or waterfalls creeping their way through he evergreens, emptying into the sea.

   Aside from the outstanding natural landscapes, there were a few cool abandoned things right on the water as well.  As I mentioned on the "Forgotten Friday" posts I started doing, we LOVE abandoned stuff.  We have a pretty good collection of photos with that theme.  We had a few favorites, like this cabin in disrepair:

    A while later we came across this boat as well.  It certainly had seen better days, but it sure was picturesque:

   Speaking of boats, we saw a few other's that were in much better shape.  I'm not sure if they were fishing boats, or shrimp boats, or what.  Either way, they sure seemed like quintessential "Alaska" so we snapped a pic or two.

   Thanks for reading! I post a nature/travel-themed blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss one!  See you next time.  - Adam

***These daily blogs showcase the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.*** 

Sort:  

Great nature share. Love it !

Thanks, @dowithlove! Nature is my favorite thing in life.

I do love the beautiful nature much as well.

Much love

Great photos, it looks beautiful, like New Zealand where I live :)

@samuel-earp-art, I must admit I'm jealous that you get to see your beautiful country every day. New Zealand is number 1 on my travel bucket list. I'll get there in the next 2 or 3 years, for sure. I'll have to track you down and see some of your painting in person! I could learn a lot.

@customnature for sure you should definitely come over to NZ. I'm originally from the UK and I came over to NZ on a working holiday visa 8 years ago and ended up staying!!!! I'm looking forward to seeing more of your photos :)

Likewise! You've quickly become one of my favorite bloggers on here. Both the awesome photography from NZ, and the painting. I'm still really new to the whole painting world, but getting into doing it myself has really made me appreciate other's work much, much more.

Thanks mate! I just love landscapes and that why I love to paint them so much, but in photographing and painting landscape it really make you look at it.

I'll be posting more paintings and art tips on my Steemit profile as I love sharing my painting knowledge. Let me know if you would like any help with your painting :)

I appreciate the offer! You're a traditional oil painter, mainly? I do wet-on-wet. I'm trying to get away from the straight Bob Ross style, but I don't think I have the patience or attention span to NOT finish a painting in one sitting. lol

Yes, most of all my influences are 19th century landscape painters as they were the best in my opinion. I do wet-on-wet paintings when I paint outdoors (en plein air) but my studio paintings often take many weeks and are much more detailed.

I have never been to art school, I am self taught and I was fortunate to have an artist friend who gave me loads of help with my painting technique. I always loved painting landscapes ever since I was a kid.

Images for keeps, I dream of adventures like this someday , until then I will keep up with your posts.
cheers !
EC

Thanks for the compliment! I'm hoping that steemit will, one day, make it possible for me to travel even more. Hopefully it will do the same for you!

You know, we could travel together

howdy! since im a curious person, i'd actually go inside the abandoned cabin lol

I'd love to have, @mdog! Just the logistics of getting to the shore from the ship prevented it.

Great images @customnature! I always enjoy seeing picturesque nature. The forests there look amazing! Upvoted :)

Thanks @myday. Though I've been doing a lot more posts about architecture and man-made stuff, nature is still my bread and butter.

I've been wanting to see Alaska for a long time now...
@pocketechange

I love the pics!!

Wow, great place to travel. Nature gives us best place to us forever. Thanks @customnature

Beautiful nature, good thing we can all peak in, I will definitely avoid destination because I hate cold weather, but you gave me feast for eyes 😊

Nice pictures - up'ed and followed!
Please follow back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64