You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Old Dog Presents: The Unique Among Us!

in #travel7 years ago

I really admire ppl who do something that makes them truly happy and provides a living but does so in a low stress manner. I'm thankful for my job, the good pay it provides and the benefits that are better than most US government workers get nowadays.

BUT it takes a lot away from my physical and mental wellbeing. I'll have worked 55 hours this week by the end of today and I have another month or so of this kind of week ahead of me. It makes me really wonder if the pay and benefits are worth the negative effects on my health and happiness.

Sort:  

I love your comment friend! I hear many that express similar feelings.

Ask yourself." what hobbies do I have that make me happy? How can I turn a small yet sustainable life from these hobbies? Then slowly transition towards that goal and minimize your hours at work as you are able to substitute your pay.
You will feel much better about yourself and even other people after a while!

That's very good advice. I have a lot of hobbies and some of them could be profitable. I'm actually working on a couple of my own very small business ventures right now but with how much I work at my regular job it's going to take a long time to get them off the ground.

Is there a way you could request 1 extra day off a week and still be able to support yourself?

Financially it would be feasible to work 4 days per week and earn 80% of what I do now from my regular job as I live well within my means. My car is paid off and the only debt that I don't have paid off is my mortgage on my house.

From the employer side of it...I'd have to find a different job as my company expects people to be there 5 days per week unless we're taking vacation time.

But yes that's sort of what I plan on doing eventually is working less hours per week at a corporate job while I transition to making more money from side businesses. It's not going as quickly as I want it to though lol.

Sounds like us writing our blogs on Steemit!

Exactly like that!

I know many people who are in the same situation as me too--unhappy and stressed out a lot of the time and they let their jobs run their lives. I once calculated that people living in the United States who make above about $16 / hour have a higher wage than 99% of the world. But are we 1%ers (as a percentage of the global population) truly happy?

Many are not. It's really weird to think about. Maybe it's a matter of perspective. Some day I hope to have a simpler life with less responsibility and live on less income.

You are a deep thinker and that is a good thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59