FLIGHT AWARE A REAL EYE OPENER

in #travel6 years ago

download (12).png

A while back I was looking for a flight making sure it was on time and stumbled upon flightaware.com I was gobsmacked at what I saw and what it quickly told me.

You hear people saying our skies are overcrowded with flights but you can't visualize what they are saying. You look up and maybe see one or two planes flying over from time to time. When we look at this site with a global map some countries are barely visible filled with miniature planes. At peak times there are over 16 000 flights in the air.
download (13).png

This in my mind puts into context how safe air travel is when you look at how many flights are taking place daily. Technology has transformed this industry and it needed to as imagine doing this without the tools we have today. To be able to have as many as 16 000 planes in the air and only have an accident every couple of years is amazing. I am sure there are loads of near misses as there has to be when we are dealing with these numbers.

I used to worry flying over darkest Africa as there is no air traffic control in that region but I think that is the least of our worries as the skies are really busy but luckily over Africa less so.

Next time you fly remember this picture as you are not alone up there.

Sort:  

I wander around YouTube and some of my regular content is aircraft related. One of the most mind-boggling videos is watching two planes pass each other in their respective "lanes". I have some experience learning about ATC and what goes into it and there is a lot of work that makes flying safe. The sky is full of invisible highways for aircraft.

I've heard some studies show being an ATC is one of the most life-shortening careers via stress.

And its this type of technological advancement that may soon make it possible to fly freight and eventually people between any two points on the globe in under an hour. SpaceX with BFR and BFS have some mighty plans!

Its mad isn't it. See this before and could not believe it. Its amazing how there is so few crashes

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 35.76% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

And we wonder why there is a hole in the ozone... LOL... sheesh... that 's crazy. Interesting, but crazy.

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Quite fascinating really

When I first saw it i was watching it for hours. Clicking on planes seeing what speed they were going and how high they were. Helped me choose my last flight as I wanted the quickest flight to my destination as possible and saved me 90 minutes of being stuffed in a small seat.

howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! that is totally amazing to think about, I'm gonna go look up that site too. Great post sir, I always learn something from your research!

You got a 18.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83