Walking Where the Force Awakens, Part 2: The Lonely Stair — Skellig Michael, the End of the World (or the Star Wars Universe)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

crimsonclad-wfa3.jpg

Standing in the cleft of a monolith with the open ocean snarling at my back, looking towards slate slabs of penitence. This is Skellig Michael.

 
      In my last post about this silver and emerald gem nestled in heaving swells of azure velvet, I took you to the top of the first ascent on the hidden world of The Last Jedi. After making the plateau, I saw the path across the island trailing through the valley and up the hillside to the tremendous crease rumpling the edge of the cliffs, and I was drawn to the spot. It called to me even more enticingly than the beehive monastic cells waiting just above... so I scrambled back down and across before advancing upwards once more. We left off the end of that post standing together in the fissure, looking down at the waves crashing below and thinking about a life where the climb to get even this high up would be dull and routine. Standing up in the face of the fierce wind, I turned to look back towards the monastery approach. The lonely stair.

crimsonclad-wfa1.jpg

      Even now, knowing how I felt small and battered and joyful and alive in this space, I find it difficult to accurately describe the scale. These photos are taken directly opposite of the ones highlighted in my introduction of the island — the massive treads are each a single sheet of stone so large that laying on my back in the middle of the smooth depression worn in every one would have left me with space on all sides. Before I show you more, here's a photosphere so we can share this moment. Close your eyes, click this link, and then open them again. Whirl around, free from wind or vertigo or jagged rocks or steep, fatal drops.

The green placard visible on the left of the photosphere view marks the start of the handholds I mentioned previously, that lead to the upper monastery where the truly solitary cell still stands. Special permits, applications, and a complete waiver acknowledging imminent death are the least of the requirements to be considered to make this climb.

I didn't realize how heavily Skellig Michael, or Great Skellig, would factor into the Star Wars universe when I visited. I think in many ways, it allowed me to look at the island with unbiased, wonder-filled eyes.

 
      I also have to say, the day that I got blew alternately fair and fierce, but was lucky in that it was not ended before it began by a true wild storm. The isle is constantly hammered by seaborne squalls, and the skies can turn ominous in a heartbeat. (In fact, Ireland was kind to me — I didn't get rained on much at all.) The rain presses down with an oppressive weight and a sullen, constricting presence. To be exposed on the bare rock face, with no shelter but the spartan cell and the lee sides of the rock... it would have been a hard, introspective life. I did a bit of processing with some of the shots to try and pull that feeling into something visual; if you've seen the new movie, without any spoilers, this look about sums it all right up.

crimsonclad-wfa6.jpg

Each step, climbed hundreds of thousands of times by monks over the course of centuries, is a perfect jumble of stone chaos, given strength through order.

 
crimsonclad-wfa4.jpg

The cloud of white specks around the island in the distance may look like spray, but it's actually flights of Northern Gannets. Incredibly enough, these birds have six foot wingspans, and there are sixty or seventy thousand of them — let that sink in, and the scope of all this vast starts kicking in.

 
      The dusting on the peaks is not snow, but guano. From almost every vantage on Great Skellig, you can see Little Skellig, a wilder, harsher, ever-present twin. If you're interested in all of the birbs, you can get a bit closer with one of my earlier posts, here.

crimsonclad-wfa2.jpg

crimsonclad-wfa5.jpg

crimsonclad-wfa7.jpg

Before crossing the valley and climbing the lonely stair, I looked back over my shoulder at the rocks and foam below.

 
      The birds are always here... there's no stopping them. For a brief flash of a second, I got a bizarre urge to jump. It may be just me, but often in high places or traveling fast or underwater, I get this little voice that says "you could..." and trails off. To be clear, it's not self harm; it's this little invincible spark that tends to run off with my mind and heart a lot. Then my logical side remembers that I have no wings to snap open at the last second, and I am content sprinting down the hill just this side of out of control instead — legs pumping and arms swinging and momentum taking over, more an upright tumble than a run at all. It's not quite the same as coasting on air currents for miles over open water and having access to spaces no other person could ever hope to gain, but the feeling is there. And the stair is waiting.

crimsonclad-wfa8.jpg

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
crimsonclad.png

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I help run a top 30 Steemit witness, along with my project partner @followbtcnews. Feel free to reach out to us on Steemit Chat or Discord at any time! If we haven't earned your vote yet, please take some time to look at our tools and our work — place a vote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.



!steemitworldmap 51.771209 lat -10.539681 long The tall, lonely stair leading to the monastery on Great Skellig, Ireland d3scr

Sort:  

Typically awesome photography along with succinct Crimmi wording.
Great work babe 😉

I have a gift for describing things accurately and quickly, while somehow also waxing on in a verbose fashion. I am an enigma! Thank you, Perc~

Oh wow, that looks simply stunning!

Yet another for the never-ending bucket list!

It never ceases to amaze me that most really great things tend to be right at the top of a staircase though! (I generally lose wight on holidays!)

hahah, me too! Eat like a pig, climb like a monkey, right?! <3

Have you ever ridden a big, fat dirt bike?

From your description of your 'little voice' I reckon it'd be a great way to let that voice get a word in edgewise.

I had to give my XR500 away, so that little voice would no longer convince me I could leap a 60 foot chasm on property I owned. It had won, and I was actually gonna build the launch ramp, so bowed to reality: if I kept the bike I was going to die.

Sounds perfect for you!

In that last profile pic, the birds are raising young. The red dot on it's bill is a target the nestlings use to peck at, and the parents are prompted to feed them.

Thanks for another beautiful post!

Edit: BTW, you now have my proxy. Dunno if I mentioned it before. You are everywhere, like Superchicken (obligatory Dr. Demento obscure reference), and I decided you are the best voice this platform has. Keep on Steemin'!

I'm right there with you. I don't think I would last too long with something like a dirt bike. However I do a pretty good job of making all of my risks calculated, things like the cliffside-slip incident in Iceland, and the almost-trip into a geothermal pool in NZ are pretty good reminders that I, in almost every way, am still a work in progress.

I had no idea about the birds! That's fascinating. I just thought that was some variant on the gulls I'm used to seeing....Damn nature, you incredible. Then again, I suppose if you had someone constantly smashing you in the face for food, you would definitely be less likely to forget about feeding them, LOL!

Thank you for your trust and support. It is never taken for granted and greatly appreciated.

@crimsonclad, you translated an already breathtaking landscape into poetry! I know those mad little sparks you speak of, where you picture yourself in mid-air, meters away from the safety of the edge haha
I think an amazing addition to your snaps would've been one to capture your own crimson-threads of hair floating in the breeze!
In your high-contrast pic you could've gone from Star Wars to SinCity haha!

Epic post, thank you for the gripping story and dream-like visuals 🖤
I will be looking forward to more!

a poet yourself, no less~
that would actually be a really cool idea for a series of edits. Maybe I can try that later on! Thanks for coming in and leaving such a great idea behind...

Yaaaaay! @crimsonclad! You delivered hard!! <3

Where is your next destination?

Woo..you are definately doing a good job..voted 4 witness congrats!.

I really appreciate your support, both here and over at MSP. You've been a great friend!

A truly awe inspiring location, thank you for doing it justice with your photos and wordy skills. Another entertaining read.

Sigh, still not watched The Last Jedi...

Don't sigh too hard. Beautiful visuals, anyways.... :|

thank you, Muxxy. I'm using my travel posts as outlets for the poetry and creative writing I'm trying to find more time for. It means a lot coming from you, to hear that it's starting to work.

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Another amazing post Crim! Looking forward to more!

The map is such a wonderful initiative! thanks for giving me the opportunity to grow with it!

I knew you were a Jedi now I have proof! Beautiful photo/landscape thank you to bring us with you in your travel.

Secretly, I'm Mara Jade :3

Such a cool place to visit! The photos are wonderful and nature in this place looks amazing.
The stairs looks like lot of hard work, to climb and build...

I can't even PICTURE how one would build something like this, over the incline and length it traverses. The island is barren and solitary, and the monks of the time had very little by the way of tools. It's mind boggling, really.

grabs hair and yells, "ALIENS"

You sure do know how to tell a story very nicely done! Love it crimmi❤️❤️

thank you, Ceci. I have this goal that when I do these "basic" travel posts, that they become more than a "read about someone's vacation" type thing 🖤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64561.21
ETH 3418.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57