Growing up Aussie in America Part 1

in #travel7 years ago

Life changed for me in March of 1992.

My mum married an American Air Force Sergeant, I was 13 years old and loved my life in Australia.

I have a huge extended family, my cousin Domenic was my best friend, so many friends and a life that was amazingly carefree, safe and fun.

The day I had dreaded for 2 years had come, the day that we left all that I knew to pursue a life in a country that I knew nothing about except from movies and television shows.

I cried so much getting on that plane and having to say goodbye to all that I knew, to move to a country where I had no family except for my mother and newly born sister, no friends and a lifestyle which I grew to dislike.

The United States of America.

The land of the free, home of the brave and land of opportunity. They say America is one of the richest countries in the world. It's bullshit, the country is rich, yes, but to survive as a regular civilian is not what it is cracked up to be.

Living on the military base for the first 2 years over there was great, free housing, no bills, tax free everything, your own grocery store, your own department stores, your own bars, nightclubs, restaurants, gyms, security, you were completely safe living on base.

To be continued....

Sort:  

Hi :)
We run a steem meetup on the last Thursday of each month, in the beer garden at the Jade on Flinders St.

Next one is on March 29th, from 6pm.
Please join us any time you're free, or hit me up if you have any questions.

Hi @crazycool

Next Adelaide Steemit meetup is on Thursday 31st of May 2018!

6pm onwards @ The Jade 142-160 Flinders Street.

Further details about the meetup can be found here

Hope to see you there, have a great day :) Stef aka @o07

DQmUn5C7s76WQQnhMv8cEzLxzDwEGy53GaDRVMRrkUw9Di6_1680x8400 (1).jpg

Congratulations @crazycool! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47