Once a year go someplace you haven't been before...

in #travel8 years ago

On my recent visit to British Columbia there was a LOT of snow on the Sea to Sky Highway (Route 99) as we drove north to Whistler.

It's about an 2 hour drive north from Vancouver and 30 minutes south of Pemberton.

The drive is scenic no matter what season you travel. Even in the winter when the clouds shroud the mountains and the snow covers the trees and well, makes travelling a tad dangerous. It rained, snowed, the sun came out a little bit and then the clouds lowered again.

I call this picture, Christmas Mountain

I captured this shot on the way to Whistler. We were driving very slowly because of the road conditions so I just rolled down the car window. I love the peek of the red logger's cabin. I didn't really see it until I uploaded my photos because I was too mesmerized by the snowy trees and mountain view.

Whistler is a popular tourist town not just in the winter but all season. There is a lot to do from hiking, swimming, golfing, zip lining, picnicking or just having a day of shopping. The Village has many restaurants and stores. It also hosted the the Winter Olympics in 2010.


I have visited here before, in the late summer, and had a much easier time of seeing the mountains as well as some wild animals like bears and deer from the Blackcomb Peak to Peak Gondola. This time, however, the conditions made it impossible to see the mountains so we didn't go on the gondola.

The gondola joins Whistler and Blackcomb mountains with cables -
it's a 4.4-kilometre/2.7mile, 11-minute journey from one to the other.



The Village







So ends my journey. Where to next time? Somewhere warm - hopefully.

All photos - @countrygirl

Sort:  

So beautiful and full of snow, it's very different here! Loved the village photos, so perfect! :)

would be pretty to live there....it's nice all year round....thanks for your comments :)

Great shots, @countrygirl! I've been to Whistler in the summer (National Dragon Boat Championships, 2010, to be exact), but you're photos show the true beauty of British Columbia in Winter.

Christmas Greetings from Snowy Vancouver Island!

That must have been fun....Dragon Boat Races.....Thanks for you kind comments.
Merry Christmas to you too from a very snowy Southern Ontario.....and freezing temperatures I might add :)

Thanks for sharing these lovely photos from your trip! Very Christmassy!!! ;)

BTW, TIL that I've been married a tad longer than you... 45 years for us, so far, and more (God willing!) to come. ;)😄😇😄

@creatr

45 years.....just a breath.....goes by so fast doesn't it? Congratulations to both of you.

Thank You! Yes, it is fast... ;)

That truly is a beautiful location. I love the Christmas Mountain. It's a photo that should be on a postcard or calendar. I would love to visit places like that, but it will have to wait.

Christmas Mountain is my favorite too. It really was a breathtaking moment. I also like the Village shot - the snowier one (before they removed the snow). It is worth a visit for sure. You would love the hiking around the lakes in the warmer months too.

I bet I would. I do like hiking in winter when the bugs aren't out.

It's beautiful :)

Thank you for reply! It is a magical place.

Very beautiful pictures and cute town! :)

Thanks! It is beautiful there...and the village part is like an oudoor mall with a lot of high end stores and restaurants. It's not an inexpensive day that's for sure.

Brrr. I'm cold just looking at your pics

he he.....as long as you're dressed for the temperature it's really nice. I got hot walking around.

I lived in Hawai'i for 4 years. Afterwards, I became the biggest wuss when it comes to cold. I'll take my tropical pacific, tyvm. 😛

Are you still in Hawaii?

No. I live in Los Angeles, now

beautiful pics countrygirl - love Whistler and snowy mountain photo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78