The Masses Aline for a Buddhist Prayer [Senso-ji Temple ⛩, Asakusa ward, Tokyo, Japan 🇯🇵]

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Slicing and dicing through tremendous herds of people, all of which have the same end goal in mind. Inside the temple, masses collide, but in an orderly fashion as might not be expected. This peaceful nature has been ingrained since early beginnings, defining societal order and the respectful human nature of the Japanese people.

Bow your head once, throw a coin or two in the collection bin, bow your head twice this time, clap two times, ending with a final bow.

This is how to pay your respects when visiting a Japanese Buddhist Shrine. Showing respect to the Gods, whether it be Buddhist or the Kami Shinto Gods, is mightily important in Japanese culture. And it’s just as important if you’re a tourist wishing to partake in Japanese prayer to follow the appropriate steps.

A well-mannered and respectful approach is absolutely required, especially if receiving the blessings from above is on your wish list. But the appropriate technique and actions involved are also very important in showing the necessary respect to the native people and their higher powers.

A surreal experience to say the least, and one that is certainly taken with you everywhere you venture from that point forward. I can still imagine myself in the very moment. The sights, the smells, the thoughts racing through my head, and the vivid memories remain all so fresh in my mind. Even though I don’t self identify as Shinto, I can still rightfully say I was a part of a cultural tradition of a place and of people I truly love.

🇯🇵⛩🍣👌🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I would love to visit Shinto temples Conradsuperb.

It was a fascinating experience if I do say so myself

Posted using Partiko iOS

Another place for my bucket list but may be out of my scope as I cannot fathom traveling too long on a plane! My family has Asia on their list as well. Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My proposal to you would be: sleep little the day before, drink a lot at the airport and on the plane, then sleep allllll the way to the Narita airport hahaha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.31
ETH 3859.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65