An Instantaneous Emotional Connection with Hiroshima, Japan: The Atomic Bomb Dome and Bombing Hypocenter

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

IMG_4908.JPG

You must personally make a trip to present-day Hiroshima in order to see the bustling and vibrant city, which at one point in history was utterly destroyed and left in complete ruins by the first ever atomic bombing.

IMG_4879.JPG

When visiting the now, 'City of Peace' there is an instant internal sentiment that is indescribable, and simply walking through the city's streets will give you chills up and down the spine. Just knowing the past occurrences which caused tragic turmoil will allow for you to make an instantaneous connection with the city and everything that it has to offer.

IMG_4858.JPG

The famous atomic bomb dome sits valiantly in the heart of Hiroshima's well renowned cityscape which highlights the past, but fails to define its future. This iconic and poignant monument is a historical World Heritage Site, and it deserves to be recognized as it triumphantly stands for the everlasting peace of the now prosperous and ever-lively city. Remembrance of the memories from this historical travesty shall never be forgotten and will always resemble the beating pulse that has never ceased to exist.

IMG_4872.JPG

A short walk from the A bomb dome lies the very hypocenter of where the atomic bomb struck the earth on August 6, of 1945. Seeing this landmark up close and personal was an extraordinarily surreal moment, and imagining myself standing there on the day of the bombing makes it all the more appreciable. My stomach, nonetheless, filled with wing-fluttering butterflies, as I was standing exactly where 'Little Boy' had landed.

IMG_4905.JPG

I hope you all enjoyed... happy globe gallivanting my traveling friends!!

!steemitworldmap 34.392772 lat 132.452588 long description d3scr

Sort:  

Cool post @conradsuperb. I imagine this is a pretty interesting place to visit. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

This sounds like something I would definitely be interested in!! Thanks for sharing the opportunity, I greatly appreiate it. I am going to see if I can do that now.

I will check that site out if I get lost, or I may comment again if I have any questions!!

Regards,
@conradsuperb

@choogirl Okay I think I got it! Let me know if you see it appear on the World map, I tagged on location 'Hiroshima Peace Memorial'

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=conradsuperb
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=an-instantaneous-emotional-connection-with-hiroshima-japan-the-atomic-bomb-dome-and-bombing-hypocenter


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Thanks!! I replaced with the respective numbers for the lat and long, is this the correct format to have my post appear on the steemit world map??

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @conradsuperb to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43