Weekend Roadtrip: Vancouver, BC - VAN JAM 4

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Steemit, hello again.

Today’s post is based on my most recent trip out of the United States, and how that trip led to me finding Steemit!

Friday September 29, 2017 after I finished my classes for the day, I left Moscow to pick up my friend Sam Cannon in Sandpoint so we could make our way to Vancouver, BC for Van Jam 4 : a kendama competition.

This was our route:

roadtovan.PNG

I left Moscow heading north, picked up my man Sam, and we drove until 11:00 or so. We stopped for the night at Sand Hollow Campground, a neat spot right off the highway along the Columbia River. We only stayed for the night, and we were packed up and gone before anyone knew we were there. We woke up and were on the road before 5:00am, we still had a long drive ahead of us. After over 600 miles, we made it to Vancouver and the fun began.

(left) Van Jam flyer (right) Sam and Colin in the Terra Kendama Shop

The kendama community is unlike any other I have been apart of. That being said, kendama events are like a big family reunion. The best part of these gatherings is hanging out with all of your old friends that you may only see once or twice a year. And when you do see them, you literally play kendama for 12 hours straight and life couldn’t be better.

IMG_2815.JPG

Eric Martin (left) and Chris June (right) hugging it out after a match.

That whole day my hands were full of both my camera, and kendamas. Along with snagging some photos, I was able to put together an event recap video! If you want to check out some very talented kendama players, be sure to give it a watch here:

So how did this trip lead up to me joining Steemit? At this event I met @kendama-odyssey who introduced me to this community (check out his trick in my video, about 3 minutes in!) Big thanks to him for showing me this awesome platform!

Here are a couple other photos I snagged while I was in Van! Hope you like them!

IMG_2799.JPG

IMG_2840.JPG

IMG_2949.JPG

Second post, that's a wrap! Any feedback? More content coming very soon!

Sort:  

Awesome photos man. Such a good time up there! I smoked mad bongs behind those buildings hahah. I gotta upload those throwback vlogs to DTube soon. Fuckin glad you're here bro!

You might know, who is the homie in the middle picture (of the bottom three)? I can't remember his name for the life of me!

Looool oh man! I totally can't remember lol I was blaaaazed

Congratulations @colinhislop97! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Sounds like a great time! This part of the world is one of my favorites.

I had an amazing time in Vancouver! I can't wait to visit again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42