Shanghai Acrobats - Shanghai Centre Theater

in #travel7 years ago

image.png

On our last night in China, we spent the evening having a farewell dinner before heading toward the Ritz Carleton for a Shanghai Acrobats performance. The performance was at the Shanghai Centre Theater, located at 1376 Nanjing Xi Lu, Shanghai ( 4th floor of the Portman Ritz-Carlton Hotel ). As we headed up the escalators at the Ritz, we were afforded a spectacular view of the lighted trees in this part of town.

acrobats2.jpg

The performance is an hour and a half, starting promptly at 7:30 pm until 9:00 pm. The theater asks guests to arrive by 7:00 pm to ensure everyone is seated prior to the performance. The seats were a plush red material. Comfortable, but a bit cramped. Our tour company purchased the tickets as part of our broader tour. We were seated in the premiere section, just a few rows from the stage. These tickets typically cost around fifty US dollars if purchased directly. The theater seats just under 1,000 guests.

acrobats1.jpg

The theater was dark, and the acrobats nimble. No the best recipe for a point-and-shoot camera. I did the best I could. I even shot a video, which did not turn out worthy of posting. The acrobats perform as a series of acts. They are renowned as one of the premiere acrobatic performances in the world. The acts are typical for this type of performance. They demonstrate balance, strength, leverage and agility. Acts include nose balancing, foot juggling, teeterboards, bamboo climbing, hula hoops, hoop jumping, jar juggling, glass balancing and more. The acts can best be described visually, although the quality of the photos are not as good as I would have liked.

acrobats3.jpg

acrobats4.jpg

acrobats5.jpg

acrobats6.jpg

acrobats7.jpg

Of all the things to do in Shanghai, this is probably the one that I would suggest should not be missed. The performances are spectacular. And flawless. The demonstration of skills are as fun as they are amazing to watch. I seem to recall that there was even a bit of humor worked in for good measure. It was an hour and a half well spent. While the price may seem a bit steep, I will not likely ever visit Shanghai again. So I was glad that I was able to see this performance in Shanghai (I have seen a traveling version closer to home). Cheap seat tickets can be had closer to thirty dollars. If you get to Shanghai, add this to your to do list.

All photos are my own. They may be reproduced with prior permission.

Sort:  

Pretty amazing aren't they! We didn't get to see these particular ones.. Saw some dudes in a sphere on motorcycles though!

These guys look great.. If we are ever back will def check them out!

thanks for sharing

I love those motorcycle shows. I haven't seen one since I was a kid!

I always wonder how they practice for that sort of thing.. without major injury.. kinda like swallowing knives! I wouldn't want to ever be a beginner lol

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=coldsteem
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=shanghai-acrobats-shanghai-centre-theater


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Another amazing adventure!
It feels like i am watching the acrobatic show too. Thank you for sharing your awesome photos.

Thanks. It was a blast. Full travelogue coming in a few days.

Wow! can't wait to see your photos. We are excited ☺

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

That must have been a sight to behold! I know that was hard to take photographs, but you got a couple of nice ones. I've never heard of this before if I ever get a chance to go to Shanghai, that would be one thing I would love to stop for! Thank you for sharing.

You are welcome. I have a couple of more things to discuss about China and then I hope to tie all of my China articles together into one massive travelogue.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61328.01
ETH 2752.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45