Panama Blog #7 - Power Surges & Lightning strikes - My Experiences and Perspective here...

in #travel7 years ago

Panama Blog #7 - Power Surges & Lightning strikes - My Experiences and Perspective here...

If you have Electronics that you enjoy, You need to read this blog !

  • Massive power surges and lightning strikes are common in Panama

You can't prevent them, But you can protect yourself ( I mean your stuff ) LOL
Get a GOOD Quality Surge protector, At-least 1. and I'll tell you why...

power surges can happen when a Transformer acts up ( or even explodes ! )

They are those large barrel looking things on some power posts. They are responsible for taking high voltage ( thousands of volts ) and reducing it to what you use ( around 110 volts ), and when they fail, maybe you loose power till repaired, but when they allow massive voltage to get to your ( anything plugged into the wall socket ), Its probably either history or needs some Loving ( from a repair person ), or maybe you can fix it ( jack of all trades person ), But I digress once again to ( another potential blog ). The song remains the same - Put all electronics on its ( electric condom ) surge protector. LOL
And don't have anything else plugged in ( that your not using ) without protection !

  • Case in point, Just happened to my friends down the road...

I'm in town shooting pool at a local bar, and my friends walk in ! Hey hows it going and how did you find me here ?
Seen your car outside he replied, cool lets get you a drink and the next game of pool is yours :-)
Sorry can't stay, we had a power outage, just came to town for a few cold beers ( at their favorite bar) bought some stuff and heading home.
Well Adios Amigo, And I'm thinking ( no point going home if the power is off ) so I'm seeing much more pool & beer for me tonight, Nice !
Next time I see them, They tell me about loosing many ( not working ) electronics, fridge being the worst ( most timely ) thing to replace, fridge/freezer full of food ! I'd me more worried about no cold beer ! LOL ( but that's just me, hehe. and Rum & Coke goes down ok without being chilled) he leans toward shots of liquor :-)
So many things are in the repair shop, being repaired them selves, But had to buy a new fridge, but still repairing the other.
I hope that covers this, and you will get protection, ( they have 1 on Everything now ) I still don't even have 1, but we unplug anything not being used ( I'll pay the price some day I'm sure )....

Lightning strikes create the same issues as above for the same reasons, and the same protection works...

I Love a thunder storm ! So I always sit on the porch and watch the lightning strikes ( My wife unplugs everything and hides under the bed LOL ), you hear them coming so can prepare ( in case ), Coconut trees are a favorite target for lightning, don't be under 1 when the storm is over head ! ( or stand under a transformer for that matter ) My friend across the street is down to 1 from 3 coconut trees due to strikes just last year, and lost a radio and tv when 1 was hit.
Many examples of the force of lightning by searching, so I'll not carry on ( but have many myself hehe )
I hope you found some value here ( maybe a giggle or 2 )
many more to follow...if you click below....

_My Signature Post --->*_ Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48