Chelsey's Chronicles #6: Thailand (PART 3) - First Day in Krabi ft Wooden Phallics in A Cave

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Thailand is definitely on the list of 'must visit places' when you're looking for a tropical escape filled with luxe resorts or budget hostels, long tail boats, island hopping adventures, refreshing coconuts and the friendliest locals.


@nishyfishy and I stayed near Ao Nang Beach in Krabi (a full post on our resort accommodation to come!). Ao Nang is known to be the prime location for longtail boats - which means it's the prime location for those wanting to island hop. It's about a 30 minute drive from Krabi town and I highly recommend staying closer to the beaches than the town. Also, along the main road, which is opposite the beach, there are an abundance of stalls and restaurants.

BTW these stalls prove to be really useful because for our island tour, we bought a cheap dry bag for our valuables, which is so essential since the longtail boat ride is generally a wet experience haha!

7583923840_IMG_0366.JPG
^ The busy main road on the left and the beach on the right

7585931952_IMG_0449.JPG
^ Pictured with two loves: my mixed fruit drink and a coconut

On our first day we jumped in a longtail boat and travelled 15 minutes to Phra Nang Beach. It was incredible hot, so we cooled off by taking a nice swim in the ocean! Although it was crowded, we managed to find a nice shady place under a tree facing the cool long tail boat stalls.

7585931952_IMG_0530 2.jpg
^These food stalls, which offered cheap food and drinks, contrasted spectacularly against the natural backdrop of the cliffs and beach.

IMG_2910.JPG

Phra Nang Beach is also home to these caves with wooden phallics.

Believed to be the home of a mythical sea princess, fishermen used to make offerings that would bring them success and protection. The phallic carved objects were also believed to help with prospering fertility.

7516761056_IMG_0516.JPG


Oh how i miss Thailand! There's something about seeing the long tail boats rocking gently on the shore with the huge rock formations in the background. Also, the boat food stalls are such a sight and so convenient. We bought a passionfruit shake and lazed under a tree which offered decent shade and looked at all the beach goers enjoying their time on the beach.

Enjoying these Thailand posts? Leave a comment and follow @chels for more :)

With Love,
Chels

x

Sort:  

Great post, @chels! Krabi has always been on my list, but I ended up in Bali for my last holiday instead and have had to put Krabi off for a while.

I'm glad that @wanderlass was able to feature you on her post and thus bring more attention to your writings. I recommend that you check out @qurator and sign up to receive more support in term of upvotes for your blog. That will help you to get the bare minimum of support needed for you to continue posting out posts like these!

Thanks for dropping by @wilfredn :) Bali is also a wonderful tropical paradise - hope you had a fantastic time there. oooh great, I'll definitely check it out thanks again!

Hi @chels, I also love Thailand but I didn't have time to explore Krabi and was only in Phuket. It looks interesting. I met a fellow traveler in Thailand who raved about it. I now see why! Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos.

I have also featured this post on my Minnow Fridays which is part of the #newbieresteemday initiative. Keep creating quality content! :)

wow, thank you so much for the kind words and feature @wanderlass! Definitely makes me motivated to post more content when I know it's been enjoyed by others :) I was able to travel to Hong Island which is about an hour long tail boat ride from Krabi. It's known to be on par with Phi Phi Island, so definitely check it out if you happen to travel to Thailand again :) Thanks again for the support and will do my best to post interesting content

You're welcome and thanks for that additional information. I've been to Phi Phi island and loved it so I'll keep this in mind. :)

Very nice blog post @chels.. You told a very nice story and I loved the photos... It is also great that you show yourself too! It was very enjoyable and made me want to go there!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

wow thank you so much for your comment and the feature :) Really glad to hear you enjoyed reading!

It was good... You had a great post.. I tried to get it featured on a few other sites, but didn't quite make it there. Good job though and I think you are going to be very good here ;)

Nice to meet you too and welcome to steemit!

Thanks for the support @davemccoy! Truly appreciate it. Hope you'll like my next post about Hong Island which I'll post later today :)

Great post! @suitcasemama and I love Railay. Have you found the secret dark cave hike with ropes to help you climb? It empties on to a gorgeous view of the west side!

Thanks so much @starthere :) Unfortunately, this time we did not, but that sounds incredible! Will definitely put that on my Thailand 'to do' list since I'll be sure to go back :D

Here's a taste so you don't forget :)

Railay.jpg

Let me or @suitcasemama know if either of you have any questions on traveling in Thailand. I've been here five years, she for three, and we like to get out and explore.

oh my! Now I'm feeling the travel bug telling me to go back just for that view hahah. Thank you so much, I'll be sure to reach out for your recommendations when I return there :D

Hello @chels, Thank you for your travel post, I am an armchair and it is so nice to find well written and photographed travel logs. There are so many wonderful places on the earth, and these travel post allow so many of us to visit them.

hi @bashadow thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you enjoyed my post, I'll be sure to read, learn and practice the art of writing engaging posts. I agree, I've been living vicariously through other steemians' travel posts :)

Such great pictures! What a beautiful place that is!
thanks for sharing the magic

thank you so much for the kind words @mamajeani :)

awesome post! love how you are a great writer and photographer!

:o hellooo! thank you so much, but we can both agree you are the better photographer by far :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48