My 10 Favourite……..

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Stadium Events Ever!!

Wembley (Old and New), London, England.

Wembley-Stadium-London.jpg

Wembley is a world famous stadium so it needs no introduction.
I have witnessed several events here for instance:

  • My uncle playing there in the FA vase final for Almondsbury Greenway v Billaricay Town
  • England V Norway
  • Bon Jovi (The last concert ever at old Wembley)
  • NFL, Miami Dolphins V NY Giants and New Orleans Saints v San Diego Chargers.
  • Bristol Rovers v Tranmere (LDV Trophy) and Huddersfield (L1 playoff final) and Shrewsbury (L2 playoff final)

But my favourite moment is with my brother watching the Foo Fighters with 85,000 other people.


10-06-06_1712.jpg
My photo that I took at the end of the show.

Lambeau Field, Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA.

Lambeau.jpg

I’ve been a fan of the NFL since I was very small and the Green Bay Packers are my team of choice. I’ve been lucky enough to go to the historic Lambeau Field for 4 games over two trips. My favourite being the Sunday Night Prime Time game against Minnesota when the temperature was -25!


45 Mins to Go.jpg
The build up to kick off. I'm a little bit excited to say the least.

Estadio De Luz (The Stadium of Light) Lisbon, Portugal.

DSCF0021.JPG
My photo from our position during the match. England fans at their best.

This was to watch England V France in Euro 2004. It was an incredible game and a chance to witness my favourite player ever in Zinedine Zidane. England were winning 1-0 with 90 minutes on the clock and up steps the maestro. Bang, Bang and its 1-2 and we lose. A free kick and a penalty by ZZ and he even throws up before the penalty.


DSCF0017.jpg
On our way to the game dreaming of victory.

Cardiff Arms Park/ Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales.

Millenium Stadium.jpg

There are a few events to talk about at this brilliant stadium. It is generally a much better all-round experience than Wembley with food, drink and hospitality far better and reasonably priced.

  • REM in concert
  • Bristol Rovers v Doncaster Rovers (JPT Final)

But my first ever stadium concert when I was a child will stay with me forever and that was Simple Minds. I was 14 years old and it just blew me away. I also shared the experience with a friend who tragically passed away 6 years later. R.I.P. Dan

638801756.jpg
GettyImages

Frankfurt Arena, Frankfurt, Germany.

Stadion_Commerzbank_Arena_Frankfurt.jpg

I was there for the Fifa World Cup 2006 to watch England’s opening fixture with Paraguay. We travelled to Germany without any tickets! We got very lucky and managed to pick up tickets 15 minutes before the start, rush to get to the stadium in a taxi before kick off. We just made it! Great stadium, brilliant memories. An estimated 100k England fans in Frankfurt.


frankfurt.jpg
Not a great game but a great occasion.

Twickenham, London, England.

CS-Twickenham-Stadium-Gallery-1.jpg

The home of English Rugby.
My and my Brother took our father to watch the Rolling Stones for his 50th birthday. The Stones were amazing considering Mick and the boys are nearly 100 years old!! ;)

But the best moment was watching England V South Africa Rugby. The crowd were unbelievable. I had the sound of Sweet Chariot ringing in my ears for days after.


eng v sa.jpg

Anfield, Liverpool, England.

Anfield.jpg

This was to watch my beloved Bristol Rovers play the mighty Liverpool in the FA Cup. Anfield is a special ground steeped in tradition and history and it was an honour to be there with 6000 other Rovers fans to witness it. We were 1-0 up at half time. Then Graham Souness brought on a little known winger called Steve McManaman who singlehandedly undid us. We still only just lost by 2 goals to 1.

Old Trafford, Manchester, England.

manchester-united-football-club-03164641.JPG

I have had the pleasure of visiting this place twice. It has changed a lot over the years and the big stand is colossal. England v Poland (qualifier) was an awesome experience high up in that huge stand. It took us 10 minutes to climb up to the top.
Manchester United V QPR was my first ever English top flight (pre Premier League) game. Great game, amazing atmosphere and Brian McClair got the winner.


lampard.jpg
Frank Lampard scoring the winner and thanking his Dad.

Camden Yards, Baltimore, USA.

Camden Yards.jpg

Home of the Baltimore Orioles. We watched the Orioles V Cleveland Indians. This is my one and only live game of baseball in this unusual stadium. Mmmmmm beer and hotdogs while you watch sport.


Camden Yards Ariel.jpg

The National Stadium, Bucharest, Romania.

1200px-Stadionul_National_-_National_Arena_3.jpg

A surprisingly impressive stadium capable of generating a huge atmosphere.

  • Romania v Poland (Qualifier)
  • The Kings of Leon.

The best moment here is the Bucharest Derby between Dinamo Bucharest and Steaua Bucharest (now FCSB). I’m always going to recommend the Bristol derby first to anyone interested but the Bucharest derby is right up there with some of the best. The passion and commitment to the cause by the 30 -40 thousand fans is a sight to behold. The games themselves are torrid affairs played at a million miles per hour and very hotly contested. It does over spill on occasions but that adds to the excitement.


IMG_20180218_204632.jpg
My shot taken of the Dinamo fans in the build up to the derby.

That is my 10 favourite stadium events. I hope you enjoyed the ride. I know I did. 😁

'My 10 Favourite', is a series. See my other post with the link below:

90's Movie Quotes

Cheers, Gaz.

Sort:  

Seriously, you give me travel envy. Another great post

Thanks my friend.

I must admit that while I was putting it together It was bringing back a lot of good memories. Although painful at the time the England v France game was incredible. I'm always surprised at how much I've done.

It's also interesting to see the lack of photo's that I have pre-smartphone era.

Gaz.

I'm the same way...almost no photos prior to smart phones. Keep making memories!

cheese

Get 0.080 to 0.100 SBD worth vote in just 0.050 @farhannaqvi7(Depend upon at that time what is my voting power)
If you want to know how to earn 0.300 in every 12 hour or 0.600 in every 36 hour or 1 SBD daily just contact me on Discord : farhannaqvi7#1327 or Skype : farhannaqvig i will tell you .

Very nice post, I hope you enjoy it.

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61