My 10 Favourite........

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Movies from the 90's with great quotes and dialogue.

Pulp Fiction (1994)

I'm sorry, did I break your concentration?

Jules Winnfield (Samuel L Jackson)

Pulp Fiction.jpg

Iconic and pretty shocking. Another Tarantino masterpiece directed and acted magnificently. This scene has Jules Winnfield (Jackson) visiting a group of guys to deliver swift retribution. (Warning: Bad Language)

Pulp Fiction Scene

The Usual Suspects (1995)

After that my guess is that you will never hear from him again. The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he did not exist. And like that... he is gone.

Verbal Kint (Kevin Spacey)

the-usual-suspects.jpg

Arguably one of the best ever twists in a movie. An amazing cast produce a brilliant performance with cool dialogue throughout. This scene is Verbal Kint (Spacey) telling Agent Dave Kujan (Chazz Palminteri) his version of a story that’s just gone down. It’s detailed, atmospheric and intense. This is one of my favourite movies of all time.

The Usual Suspects Scene

Fight Club (1999)

Man, I see in fight club the strongest and smartest men who've ever lived. I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy shit we don't need. We're the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War's a spiritual war... our Great Depression is our lives. We've all been raised on television to believe that one day we'd all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won't. And we're slowly learning that fact. And we're very, very pissed off.

Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt)

Fight Club.jpg

Dark and gritty. This excellent movie has a serious message and both Edward Norton and Brad Pitt deliver fine performances. This scene is my personal favourite and shows Tyler Durden (Pitt) lecturing and educating his followers.

Fight Club Scene

Reservoir Dogs (1992)

Hey, why am I Mr. Pink?

Mr Pink (Steve Buscemi)

Resovoir Dogs.jpg

Every scene in this movie is the epitome of coolness. The cast list of superstars goes on for ever and they deliver. In this scene Joe (Lawrence Tierney) is naming all of his team ready for a heist with hilarious results. Funny, dark, thought provoking and, at times, extreme! (Warning: Bad Language)

Reservoir Dogs Scene

The Matrix (1999)

I know what you're thinking, 'cause right now I'm thinking the same thing. Actually, I've been thinking it ever since I got here: Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

Cipher (Joe Pantoliano)

Matrix.jpg

The concept of this movie is mind blowing and is more relevant than ever. This scene has Cipher (Pantoliano) and Neo (Keanu Reeves) talking about the reality of there situation and the revelation that people might not want to know the reality of their situation. Apologies for the clip. Somebody has altered it but it was the only clip I could find that shows the whole scene.

Matrix Scene

The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.

Hannibal Lecter (Anthony Hopkins)

The Silence of the Lambs.jpg

This is Anthony Hopkins at his very best. In this scene Lecter (Hopkins) is toying with his prey, Clarice Starling (Jodie Foster). Absolutely spine chilling.

The Silence of the Lambs Scene

Goodfellas (1990)

But I'm funny how, I mean funny like I'm a clown, I amuse you? I make you laugh!

Tommy Devito (Joe Pesci)

Goodfellas.jpg

This is definitely not the Joe Pesci from Home Alone! Goodfellas is one of the best of its genre and Pesci is a huge part of that. This scene has Tommy Devito telling a story to a 'captive audience,' including Henry (Ray Liotta) the protégé. The mood drop is stunning and Devito is wild and unpredictable. (Warning: Bad Language)

Goodfellas Scene

As Good as it Gets, (1997)

You make me want to be a better man.

Melvin Udall (Jack Nicholson)

as-good-as-it-gets.jpg

Melvin Udall (Nicholson) is a pretty obnoxious character which makes anything he does even remotely nice, so much more poignant! Here he is on a date with Carol (Helen Hunt) trying to undo his disastrous mistake and pay his date a compliment.

As Good As It Gets Scene

The Shawshank Redemption (1994)

I guess it comes down a simple choice: Get busy living, or get busy dying.

Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins)

Shawshank Redemption.jpg

A beautiful and yet harrowing tale of Andy Dufresne (Robbins). Andy is wrongly accused of killing his wife and is sent to Shawshank. Fantastic dialogue throughout this movie. In this particular scene, Andy is at his wits end, or is he?

The Shawshank Redemption Scene

Good Will Hunting (1997)

Well, I got her number. How do you like them apples?

Will (Matt Damon)

Good Will Hunting.jpg

This is another movie with some powerful dialogue. There are some great actors and although not in this scene, Robin Williams is incredible. A perfect example of how a poignant moment in the middle of humour can nail a scene. The clip has genius Will (Damon) rescuing his friend and continuing to make his point to a bully, with the help of some fruit! ;)

Good Will Hunting Scene

And there we have it folks.

My top 10 favourite 90's movie with great quotes and dialogue. Please feel free to comment or add your own movies and if you liked it then please Follow and Upvote. If you really really liked it then a Re-Steem would be lovely! :)

Cheers, Gaz.

Sort:  

Great quotes and super dialogues from great movies.Thanks for sharing.

Hi @robertsekhose

You're welcome. Thanks for the comment.

All different genres but similar in their approach to the scripts. I love a good twist or a bit of subtle banter. For example, I was disappointed with Suicide Squad but loved the bar scene when they were chatting and taking the piss out of each other.

Sometimes less is more. I like a bit of action and clever use of CGI in the right places but that's all that a lot of movies seem to be about these days.

I would definitely be interested to know your favourites and if you had any other movies you would of put in?

Cheers, Gaz.

Quite a few of my top ten films in there too! i need to rewatch a few of these .

Cool. There are some beauties in there. Which one's are in your top 10?

When I was originally putting this together it was going to be from any era. Then it occurred to me that out of the four I started with three were 90's so I went with it. It was a great decade for thought provoking and smart movies. Although there was a ton of garbage as well but I guess you could say that about any period in modern movie history.

It also leaves me with some ammunition for future posts. ;)

Goodfellas is my fav mafia movie of all time, amazing casting and a true story!

Fightclub, this movie took me by surprise when i first saw it, a film that makes you really think, both Brad pitt and Edward norton were amazing in it,.

Edward norton is great in american history X too!

I haven't seen American History X. I'll put that one on the list.

its a tough but real subject matter, its a brutal film - but its very very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71299.70
ETH 3793.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80