Castle Peles, Sinaia, RomaniasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

Having had done my shenanigans in Bucharest, it was finally a time to start heading back towards north. And since the Mexican girl – who I met in a hostel in Bucharest – was going into the same direction, I joined with her and took a train to a small town of Sinaia. From the train station it was a 2 kilometer hike to Castle Peles through a marked route involving a lot of stairs and uphills. Unfortunately I forgot to take any photos at the center, but it was such a charming little town that it makes me want to go back – rarely does anything make me say that.

DSC_11842528x1896.JPG
Mountains!

DSC_11881896x2528.JPG
The castle!

I'm not that much into things per se, but I must say that the castle is quite pretty.

DSC_11921896x2528.JPG
But how 'bout castle and mountains?

I don't usually get myself photographed, but when I do, I make sure it's a pretty nice one.

DSC_11952528x1896.JPG

_20181221_154902.JPG
The muscles of those statues are really distinct!

DSC_11972528x1896.JPG
He has lost few toes...

DSC_11962528x1896.JPG
I'm blaming it on this guy.

_20181222_213359.JPG

DSC_11981896x2528.JPG
Probably my favorite shot.

We didn't go inside, because it would've cost (too much), but we could check out the inner yard.

DSC_12012528x1896.JPG

DSC_11992528x1896.JPG

There was also another castle, Pelesor, part of the same complex with Castle Peles.

DSC_12021896x2528.JPG

DSC_11852528x1896.JPG
A gate leading to Castle Peles.

Me and my travel companion were really lucky because we woke up early and got to visit the place basically without any other tourists – just when we left, a bus full of students pulled over.

I didn't visit any other castle(s) – despite there being 160 of them in Romania – but I honestly don't mind, because this one was so fine and in such a beautiful location that I don't even think there's many that can beat Castle Peles.

After Sinaia and the castles, we continued to Brasov city, only 40 kilometers. That was located on one beautiful location as well, but more on that on a dedicated post.

Sort:  

I made an album with many beautiful places of Romania. It is also a adult coloring book. I recommend it.

"First adult coloring book and album at the same time. Discover and color Romania through 31 pictures of famous places and 31 illustrations. The very high details and a short story about all the places will keep you up all night.All the illustrations are manually made. The best gift for your family members."

https://www.amazon.com/Travel-Through-Pictures-Made-Romania/dp/1541250672/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1546420896&sr=8-1&keywords=travel+through+pictures

It must hurt to hit the corner of a furniture and rip your whole toe off, ouch!

Even more when you lose a whole foot!

Romania seems to have so many hidden treasures, hope to visit it one day!

Indeed, there must be many more charming cities/towns/villages like Sinaia. Also, I barely even scratched what the nature has to offer, because it was winter and too cold to visit a national park – which they have a lot of. Talking of which, random trivia: there's this one national park next to Black Sea that has the only freely roaming horses left in Europe!

If/when I go back to Romania, I'll definitely make it during spring/summer so that I can go hiking to see the mountains and caves myself!

So much history, beauty and culture in one building. Looks like you're having a blast so far.

Happy holidays dear

This was a while ago – I'm already back home. But it sure was fun!

Happy holidays dear

All the same for you as well!

Glad you enjoyed! Sinaia is one of my favorite cities (in summer, that is!).

I guess every place is better at summer :P

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=celestal
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=castle-peles-sinaia-romania


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @mrprofessor and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in today's Travel Digest #399

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

That's awesome, thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70