At crossroads in Romania | Reunion with a special GuysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel6 years ago

_20181124_144624.JPG

I'm starting to run dry with my funds. Obviously I have to do something about it before it happens. I have couple of options: get a job, volunteer or go back to Finland (and find a job there, too, eventually). I found out there's a possibility of potentially getting to volunteer in a hostel in Malta which seems like an attractive place, but what draws me back to Finland, on the other hand, is that my friends are going to a cottage for New Year's.

Luckily Romania is cheap, so I can stay here for a while, especially when couchsurfing. I was planning on going hiking to the Apuseni National Park, but I looked at the forecast, and it looks like raining all the time through Monday to Wednesday, which wouldn't make for a too pleasant hiking experience. That means I'm probably staying here in Oradea the whole time until Friday when there's going to be some action here on Romania's national day with some familiar dudes.

Talking of which, guess who I met here?

_20181125_204919.JPG
Excuse my face, I don't know what I'm doing with it.

Frigging @guyfawkes4-20!

DSC_1005.JPG
And his crazy Romanian friends to whom I like to refer as 'bunch of fucking crazy Romanians'. (Also including Guy. What am I kidding, just put everyone into the category.)

Aaaaaand as you can see, we went drinking - it seems like their favorite activity.

The slogan of my venturings have formed into "I have no idea what I'm doing." People usually like to ask where I'm coming (that I can usually answer, even in Romanian now: "eu sunt din Finlanda"), but when people want to know where I'm going... It's a bit of a challenge, because sometimes I barely even know myself where I'm gonna be in three days. I prefer keeping my options open and leaving some room for spontaniouty. My mom already wants to have an estimate time of my arrival back to Finland, so she can arrange food stuff, yet I'm not even sure if I'm going back to Finland in the first place. Our personalities always clash like this, it's funny.

In any case, I need to make the hike happen at some point, I've already purchased bunch of food, and I've dragged my camping gear all the way here, yet only having used it once. Not to forget the fact that the nature here is one of the main attractions of this country.

Well, once again: tomorrow will get me one step closer to the answers.

Later.

Sort:  

You can always answer to your mother: "Coming back some time year 2030." Any guesses on how she might react? :D

Lol, she would probably lose her shit.

Tell her that time will pass by pretty quickly anyway and you will send a postcard. Annually.

And that she can always visit you, she just has to hitchhike to Romania.

Lol, she would never do that, and of she did, I would be scared for her.

Desperate times call for desperate measures. If she knows that you would be scared for her, she might say that she would do that, so you would come home. Immediately.

I am clearly thinking exactly like your mother would.

Lol, blackmailing by threatening to do something dangerous/self-harmful.

Blackmailing. One of the basic principles to raise a child. It just changes over the years. "If you don't come to see me more often to the old people's home, I will hit my roommate with a spoon!"

"If you don't come to see me more often to the old people's home, I will hit my roommate with a spoon!"

I would just let her do that.

Cool to see other Finns visiting Romania! I'll probably go next spring as well, it's been quite a few years since the last visit and I STILL have not made it much farther than Bucharest. I need to visit Transylvania, at the very least!

Here's something useful: "Habar n-am." Translates pretty much to "I have no idea."

Romania is pretty nice place; it's cheap, people are awesome (the few I've encountered at least) and the nature is beautiful - I just need to see it myself though. I'm itching to get to some proper wilderness - there's been so little use for my camping gear I've been dragging along with me!

Here's something useful: "Habar n-am." Translates pretty much to "I have no idea."

Niiiice, that'll get some good use for me!

Ahhhhh so great to see you and @guyfawkes4-20 reconnect! I'm not gonna lie, I'm jealous I'm not drinking with you guys!

Come here by Friday then :D It's gonna get wild most likely.

Your nomadic life makes my responsibility tied one itch. I have never traveled although my soul is dying to... Enjoy Romania!

Hopefully you'll get to travel one day, too.

Can't wait!

Looks like you boys are having fun :)) jealous

And why did I have to read a post by a Finn to remember our national day is this Friday? :))) Trying to hear you in my head saying "eu sunt din Finlanda":))

Enjoy our fair country and stay warm :)) Apuseni are nice, though not worth freezing your ass off!

Trying to hear you in my head saying "eu sunt din Finlanda":))

You might get to hear it in real life ;)

Enjoy our fair country and stay warm :)) Apuseni are nice, though not worth freezing your ass off!

Trust me, I'll be fine. I've already hiked in similar temperatures in Finland :)

Btw, can you recommend some National Park somewhere between Oradea and Bukarest?Something easily accessible. Since my plans changed for this week, I can go hiking somewhere else, too, than Apuseni. And yes, I'm almost 100% coming to Bukarest :)

Huh I have no idea. I'm not much of a hiker, to be honest...:)))
Cool :)

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.088 which ranks you at #3316 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 3308).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 202 contributions, your post is ranked at #81.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39