Every Obstacle is an Adventure

in #travel6 years ago

Ciao, Steemit!

I’m posting today from Italy, and what a journey it took to get here! If the luck of the Irish came to me early, it left me early, too. I was scheduled to catch a flight out of Dublin, have a 2-hour layover outside London, and then fly to Milan. I was waiting at the gate in Dublin airport when we were notified that the flight was delayed by an hour. After we finally boarded, the plane taxied around the runway for another half hour before taking off. Upon landing, it took an extra forty minutes to get my luggage, so I missed my connecting flight by a long shot.

Travel hack update: if you schedule cheap flights, allow yourself extra time for things to go wrong.


The Alps from the window of my plane

I ended up getting a ticket on the next flight to Milan, but I had to stay in place overnight first. Sleeping in the airport was an experience, but I met some other travelers my age and we bonded a little. It was a huge inconvenience, and the airport was not comfortable, but I’m actually kind of glad it happened. One girl, Julia, was from Italy and missed the same flight that I did. When we flew to Milan, she helped me figure out what train to take from the airport to the city centrale area where my hostel was! We’ve kept in touch for the past several days too, even after parting ways.

Italy is the sixth country I’ve been to, but actually the first where the primary language isn’t English. Luckily, many signs have translations on them and I know enough basic Italian to get around. However, it surprised me how different Italy is from any place I’ve been before. The trees, the cars, the buildings… for the first time, I felt like I was truly in a whole new place.

In Milan, one of the fashion centers of the world, I intended to go shopping. By the time I made it to my hostel, took a shower, and got ready to go out again, the stores were already closing. No extended shopping hours like in the USA! I took the metro to the Duomo, and my mind was blown. I had seen photos before, but I wasn’t prepared for the size of it. I had to stand across the piazza just to fit it all into my camera frame!

The last meal I’d had was breakfast at the airport, so by this point I was beyond hungry. The Duomo area is a major tourist trap, and the ristorantes around were fancy and expensive. They had tables set on front patios for al fresco dining, complete with cloth napkins, candles, and wine glasses. I looked longingly at them, and felt pretty silly considering asking for a table for one.

A note about culture shock: at this point, I was wishing for casual takeout like the US has so much of, so that I could get something and walk with it. I wished that I could be with my friends and family so I wouldn’t have to be alone halfway across the world. I wished that I could have gotten a good night’s sleep in my own bed. Instead of appreciating a new place, I was missing the one I had come from. I had reached the low point of culture shock.

I stopped and reasoned with myself. Most people go through something like this when arriving in a new place. It’s okay to feel overwhelmed outside of your comfort zone, but to dwell on the negatives would only make it worse. I reminded myself that it was not Milan’s fault that I was tired, hungry, and jet-lagged. And, since nobody could afford to eat so expensively all the time and the locals weren’t starving, there had to be other food options.

After going farther out, I found a little shop selling Italian sandwiches for only a few Euros. They had the World Cup futbol game on, and were situated right in front of a literal castle. I ate, drank a beer that I bought legally, and finally relaxed as the sun set and the city lights came on. That was the moment, when I let everything negative go and appreciated the beauty of the moment, that I fell in love with this place.

The important thing about facing challenges is to stay positive. Why miss out on appreciating such an amazing opportunity due to a few obstacles?

xo,

Cecilia

Sort:  

I just got done looking at pics from France and Spain, now I get to see pics from Italy, yay!!! :)

Would have been good if you had a chunk of that bread you baked last summer in your purse for hunger emergencies. Ok well maybe a protein bar. :) But sounds like you found an ideal place and enjoyed yourself. Looking forward to more pics!

Luckily, the airport had food! And now I can have all the Italian bread I want :)

Congratulations @ceciliakeirstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love Italy, love your photos here.

Thank you! It's so beautiful, I can't help but take photos of everything!

Congratulations @ceciliakeirstead! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85