You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Beautiful Ocean, Vague and Empty

in #travel7 years ago

What I'm beginning to see as I watch all these travel vlogs and read all the blogs, is that freedom is in the mind. I've spent a lot of time working on myself recently and I feel freer at home in my own room than I ever have previously when travelling, because I was trapped inside all this internal crap I needed to deal with.

I do admire people who travel full time and I know lots of them are happy, but a lot of the things you mention (friendships you missed out on, the constant goodbyes) are things that I think would actually drain me more than sustain me long term. I think a lot of people are fooled into thinking travelling the world will solve all their problems (just like having all the money will solve their problems) when it just presents you with a different set of circumstances to deal with. I think you need to be able to find joy where you are first before just automatically expecting it of travel.

Wonderful post.

Sort:  

And wonderful comment. You are right, sometimes we can be just happy here in our own rooms, reading, writing or doing nothing. It makes us feel freer. A life we don't need to escape from. These travel bloggers sometimes just forgot to write "What you don't know about traveling?"

It's nice to travel but at some point, it is also nice to have a place/person you can call 'home'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62