My First Travel Abroad: Japan - Lake Kussharo

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

34324.jpg

Lake Kussharo

During our tour of Japan, we took the Express Train that travels through an undersea tunnel for 33.5 miles between Hakodate to Southern Hokkaido. I had never been on a train that goes underwater before, so it was an exciting adventure for me.

Hokkaido is the second largest of the four main islands of Japan and is the northern most one. Of all the four islands, Hokkaido is the least developed. The weather during winter is harsh with major snowfall and temperatures dropping to below zero. Hokkaido is also home to a lot of unspoiled nature and tends to attract many people who love the outdoors.

45353.jpg

We stayed at the Kussharo Prince Hotel, which is right by the shore of Hokkaido's beautiful Lake Kussharo. Every window in the hotel looks out to this beautiful lake, thus making our stay a very peaceful and relaxing one.

3433.jpg

Lake Kussharo is a caldera lake located on the eastern part of Hokkaido. It is the largest caldera lake in terms of surface size in Japan. What is a caldera? When a large amount of magma erupts out of the ground, the main support for the crust above is lost, resulting in the ground surface collapsing downward. Subsequently this leaves a massive depression at the surface. In time water fills this depression, creating a lake.

34343.jpg

Lake Kussharo is such a quiet and serene lake with beautiful color water. During sun rises, it has a surreal reflective beauty on its surface. My daughter and I had taken a walk around parts of the lake before breakfast and found two fishermen quietly fishing alone on the large lake. It is amazing for such a beautiful lake to be void of people, except for the two fishermen. It was so quiet that you could hear a leaf drop. Such stillness gave the lake an ethereal quality.

If you ever travel to Japan, a stop at this Lake Kussharo would be an enjoyable and relaxing place to rest and enjoy a quiet moment. It will push all your stress away. Nature is such a beautiful experience and healing. I loved my stay in Hokkaido!

May your days ahead be stress free and happy! And may your travels be fun and adventurous. Thank-you for visiting my post! If you would like to see other posts that I made while on tour in Japan, please click HERE.

All pictures were self-taken while on a Japan tour.

Sort:  

Very beautiful photos! It looks like it is a very peaceful place to visit! The quietness sounds very welcoming!

It was a beautiful place to stay. So quiet and peaceful and restful. Thank-you so much for your support and visiting my post! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cabbagepatch from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Beautiful! This looks like a great place to go!:) Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-12-rilski-monastery

Thank-you @nakedchef89 for visiting my post. Appreciate your comments and support. It was a very beautiful place full of serenity and nature. I will check out your post. Again, thank-you for visiting!

How beautiful~~~I could sit for hours and look out over that lake. The surface looks like molten silver. I think your daughter is a lucky girl to have a mother like you, and what a lovely traveling companion you would be :) Everything you have shown during your time there looks as perfect as a movie set. I just love it. Thanks again for a glimpse into such a serene world!!

@tamaralovelace, you are so eloquent in everything you say and do. Your comments have really touched me. You are a lovely person with spirit and happiness and I thank-you for being my friend. You really are a bright light of sunshine to me. Much love and appreciation........Cabbagepatch :D

Your first travel abroad seemed to be very successful. Lake kussharo looks like a very recommendable place to relax. Everything was beautiful with your words. :) @cabbagepatch

Hi @bontonstory! Thank-you for your support and lovely comment. At first I started this post as a Color Challenge but I really wanted to move away from that, so I decided to do a new series on my first travel to Japan. I'm not an expert like you but I will use you as a role model. I'm trying to write more because I find that it is a great outlet for me. I also wanted to try to continue my path to inner peace/becoming series because I needed a way to express my inner turmoil between being grounded and peaceful versus not over reacting to the sometimes crazy world we live in. I hope I don't take on more than I can handle. I hope you are well and doing great. Thank-you for being a source of great support and friendship!....Cabbagepatch :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86