Understanding Marshall Tito Square in Zagreb - Steemer's Account

in #travel7 years ago

What can an average Steemer do and learn there? I hope I will illustrate it in a useful way.


The Basics

Get in: Take a tram from any direction or walk from Ban Jelačić Square (the main square).

Museums at the square:
Croatian School Museum, Trg maršala Tita 4/I
Museum and Workshop Franjo Schneider, Trg maršala Tita 11
Museum of Arts and Crafts, Trg maršala Tita 10

Understand


Wikipedia image

The square is named after an infamous (or famous) Yugoslavian revolutionary and statesman Josip Broz Tito. Many people would like to see the name changed.


Visit the eye-catching Croatian National Theatre (Hrvatsko Narodno Kazalište - HNK)

It serves as a theatre, opera and ballet house. Students get 50% off the ticked.

It was built by famous Viennese architects Fellner and Helmer in 1895.

The architectural style is Neo-Baroque, meaning it was built to look massive and impressive with domed shapes and colonnades.

Stop by and have a market bought beer on a bench across it. On a warm sunny day it can be a rejuvenating experience! Maybe right next to this sculpture of Saint George killing a dragon! Take a break from cryptocurrency!


Opposite of the Croatian National Theatre you can see the new building of The Academy of Music. It stands in a sharp contrast to the classical architecture of the HNK.

It was built by Milan Šosterič in the contemporary style in 2014 and the first thing you notice are two peculiar sculptures: a Needle and a Sphere.

I have heard it represents a male-female polarity. What do you say?

There is a very similar sphere in a nearby street which might have served as an idea for it.


Across the main entrance of HNK you can see The Well of Life, a sculpture by the famous Croatian sculptor and architect Ivan Meštrović. It was installed there in 1912.

It symbolises waters of life and several figures try to drink from it.

I would propose an analogy with Steemit which is our water of life and we are children and old men who joyfully partake in its life which also sustains us!

We are hugging and upvoting each other, just like figures embedded in stone.


You are interested in a different kind of scenery? Try this post about mountains (Appalachian) on the east coast of the USA by @thedeplorable1

Cheers! @buzzbeergeek


Have you ever visited Zagreb?

Sort:  

Not yet but I really want...!
Nice pictures!

Thank you. Summer and spring are excellent seasons for a visit! ;)

Yes I know summer is good there :D

Very interesting. Thanks for this :)

Sure. I like putting things here for posterity, hehe. Thanks for the vote!

I visited Zagreb in 2007. I arrived by train from Budapest and continued my journey towards Ljubljana. I just spent one night in Zagreb, and didn't see everything, but I really liked the easy-going atmosphere and the human size of the city :) I'd happily come back!

I'm glad you liked it! There are more and more happy tourists every year. And, yes, it's a great place to stop for a day or two on the way onward!

I guess the Croatian coast, Split, Pula and Dubrovnik attract more tourists than Zabreg though :) I'd be happy to read an article from you about your recommendations there

I keep my fingers crossed that we will have Steemit in summer. If yes, I'll definitely post some fresh seaside advice!

tpoa - tito, partija, omladina, akcija - fabric

lol, always with a revolutionary spirit! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42