Sanur to Nusa Penida, Indonesia

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

Afternoon steemers,
After a couple of days lazing around in a homestay in Sanur, Bali I decided to book a speed boat to the island of Nusa Penida. For the price of $25 AUD (and I probably got ripped off) I would have been silly not to!

IMG20190331114713.jpg
Before catching the boat I stopped in at the turtle conservation "facility."

IMG20190331114801.jpg
I am no marine biologist but these turtles were definitely not happy in these tanks. I spoke with the carer and he assured me it was for the greater good of the local turtle population. From what I could tell the feed them up and release them.

IMG20190331114856.jpg
How amazing are these little guys?

IMG20190330175457.jpg
An amazing $2.50 coffee from this legend and I was on my way to the harbor.

The harbor turned out to be just a beach and a tourist trap with locals trying to sell me all kinds of things I didn't want. From homemade weapons to jewellery I got really tired of repeating "tidak terima kasih" but I kept smiling and trying to have fun with it......eventually I was left alone 😂.

IMG_20190401_141316.jpg
The boat certainly looked impressive, someone is definitely making a bucket load of money. It certainly isn't the locals!

After waiting for the workers to load up the boat I waded waste deep through the water to get to the boat. In no time we were dodging sand bars searching for deep water to fire up the huge engines of the speed boat.

IMG20190401151506.jpg
The markers were huge and I was happy to see the green marker on the left hand side, just like home.

The boat ride was rather smooth compared to some I did in Thailand a few years back and took roughly one hour. I relaxed and enjoyed the mountain views and was thankful for a window seat.

IMG20190401153940.jpg
The mountains were much more visible in real life but it would be weird not to add a picture.

IMG20190401161431.jpg
We arrived and the workers wasted no time getting our bags to safety, carrying multiple at a time.

Once I grabbed my bag I was instantly harassed by taxi drivers and scooter hirers. Having played this game before I ignored them and found I quiet place to let things calm down. A guy approached me offering $7 per day, we bartered for a while and I drove off on a $5 per day bargain.

Not long into my ride and I was hit full force and stung by a huge flying insect that I presume to be a carpenter Bee.... (yes I am aware of the irony!) The pain was brutal and still hurts quite a bit, if the pain persists I will go to the local hospital. 🐝 🐝 🐝

IMG20190402143246.jpg
Unfortunately there is a lot of rubbish on the beaches. I will further explore the beautiful spots once the pain in my arm subsides.

I rode around in pain checking out the graffiti and spotted some work by the world famous 1UP CREW.
looks like they had spent some time on this island, cheeky bastards are everywhere!

IMG20190402143144.jpg
The owner of this place seemed quite happy with his free paint job, I pointed at the graffiti and he smiled and gave thumbs up

IMG20190402123703.jpg
An epic ocean themed mural by the same guys from Berlin

I was running out of daylight at this point so I put the phone away and got back on the scooter.
Eventually I found my hostel, time for some much needed rest!

Stay tuned for more Nusa Penida exploration in the coming days!
Peaceful Travels,
Sam.
Screenshot_2018-10-15-16-56-11-20.png

Sort:  

Yeeeww fucking TURTLES!!! If the arm doesn't get better just cut it off at the neck. Looks like a nice spot, shame about all the rubbish on the beach. And good to see some quality 1UP over there👍

Posted using Partiko Android

There may be a quote from the famous @terrybogan in an upcoming blog so stay tuned 😂

Haha awesome 👌👌

Posted using Partiko Android

🤣🐢 awesome, will def stay tuned for that 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=brizhorticulture
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sanur-to-nusa-penida-indonesia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #474.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Many thanks 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72