Australia #5 - Perth - Western Australia

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

After a week in Manly and the Sydney area we flew Virgin Australia to Perth. We had several reasons for going there. One reason was to see as much of Australia as we could during our 2 month roadtrip, to say for example that we had been to the west coast and seen the Indian Ocean.

IMG_7658.JPG

IMG_7655.JPG

Indian Ocean at Sorrento Beach, Joondalup, on the West Coast Highway just north of Perth, a wonderful area called the Sunset Coast.

Another reason was to revisit driving on the wrong side of the road, become familiar with Australian driving habits, check out my new GPS, and decide whether we could do our trip with a sedan rather than an SUV, which is what we have in Canada.

IMG_7653.JPG

Our first day trip was north through the Swan Valley wine region, heavily irrigated vineyards next to parched farmland. Driving on the wrong side came back to me quickly, particularly since rentals in Oz are automatics, unlike the UK, so there's no shifting with the wrong hand, but still the odd embarrassing moment when I signal a turn and the windshield wipers start up!

A third reason was to try renting a cabin at a caravan park, which is what the two couples who advised us during my trip planning suggested we do. If this didn't work out I would have to go to Plan B, which meant hotels, which we don't like due to the expense and having to eat out all the time - another expense, and definitely not the healthy option.

IMG_7637.JPG

Our first cabin, typical of the places we'd stay. Discovery Parks BIG4 is an Australian caravan parks chain recommended by our friends. Our Camry sedan, which after a few days I realized wouldn't do for roadtripping, and brightonbonnie relaxing on the verandah.

Finally, one of brightonbonnie's second cousins had a grand-daughter who had emigrated to Perth 10 years ago, and we wanted to see her.

IMG_7674.JPG

Our first extended day trip was to Margaret River. We learned a few things, which was the intent. Highway driving, despite what I'd heard before our trip, was relaxing, because due to extensive traffic cameras and no-tolerance policies everyone obeys the speed limits (unlike Canada, where the crazy drivers are right on your bumper or passing on the wrong side!). We are used to long distances in North America, but wanted to get a sense of what a long-day's drive in Oz would be like, going south on the motorway and returning on Caves Highway through the wine area and then the Old Coast Road. Finally, brightonbonnie learned that the iconic kangaroo-warning signs do not mean 'Oh, we're going to see some cute kangaroos!', but that more likely than not we're going to see one dead one.

IMG_7685.JPG

IMG_7688.JPG

Another day trip to Fremantle, a pleasant small fishing port with interesting heritage buildings.

IMG_7699.JPG

It was 35 Celsius in Perth, a 10 degree jump from Manly, very dry but hot nonetheless, and typical of the weather we would have the rest of our stay in Oz, so this pool at our caravan park was very much appreciated. Our roadtrip plan included one day a week to chill, do laundry, and take a break from driving and touring - and in most parks the laundry was very close to the pool!

IMG_7644.JPG

My biggest disappointment in Oz! After years of hearing about the barbie culture I discovered this was the typical barbie in caravan parks but also any public park - the metal plate was hard to heat up and harder to clean. I tried it once at another park, first and last time.

Sadly, no pictures of Perth proper. After our Sydney stay we decided after all our travels we'd seen enough museums and churches, and wanted to focus on countryside and small towns. So if you are following me expecting Melbourne, Brisbane, etc., not going to happen. But you will see some other great spots!

And we did get to meet our distant relative, over brunch in a wonderful little restaurant in Kalamunda in the Perth Hills about 10 kilometers from our park.

Join me for my next post - we fly to Alice Springs and the Red Centre!

Thanks to @benfenson for watching over my Oz posts!

!steemitworldmap -31.952448 lat 115.863391 long Perth Australia d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations @brightongreg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good morning. New location, working slick today!

Good to hear! I've been working a lot on the worldmap today, go take a look, I think you'll like it!

And have you been studying too?

Looks good. Beginning to populate now with more users!

Is the search function in the top left corner active - I can't get it to work?

Not nearly enough, but well, life is making choices!
It should be active, what device are you using and what happens when you click on it?
EDIT: double checked, should be on a mobile device I'm guessing, the problem is that the cache hasn't reset on your device yet! It'll auto-correct normally within maximum a week and usually less than that! You can also manually clear your own cache of course!

I'm actually setting up a new PC, Lenovo Windows 10. Spent most of yesterday finishing off moving files across from old almost-dead PC and installing a few apps. Yesterday was the first official day I did everything on the new machine. Could this be the issue?

What I see top-left is very plain looking text fields which I can type in, but then no functionality. Given the rest of your 'look' I would expect bells and whistles like the 'search' and 'clear' features being coloured buttons, but they are just text.

What's your major?

Edit: #steemitworldmap are you in maintenance mode? I see the buttons now top centre, tried them, work well but I think they should centre somehow, probably difficult if the search results give multiple posts? Wanted to let you know did 2 posts earlier this morning, Alice Springs Oz and a location 250 km southwest of there, and still neither have populated. Let me know - cheers.

Let me take a screenshot of how it's supposed to look, can you confirm it looks like this for you?

With the search open:

Ah, than something is going wrong, had some other reports of posted not being added to the map, will take a look into it!

I'm getting a bachelor in IT at the moment, well, if I pursue it!

EDIT: We had a soft server reset, so just editing it a bit will probably fix it!

Yes, that's exactly what I got the second time around, proper buttons, then the function opened including the date selection. You should pursue your degree, you obviously have some talent for this! Maybe I could get a minor in beta testing!

But maybe not. I just lost an hour or two of my life setting up a printer/scanner, all done on-line and worked like a bomb except they forgot to tell me to deselect my old printer, which was the default, and make theirs the new default. I guess I should know that, but with all then other steps in the app you think they could include this for us tech-challenged folk!

If you buy some spray on cooking oil for the BBQ, then your food won't stick. Not all BBQ's are the same... you should definitely give it another go. I am an Aussie who drove a circuit around Australia (including Tasmania) in a small Nissan hatchback... it can be done :) Top Tourist is another chain of caravan parks that is also quite good.

Re: barbie probably should have figured that out but didn't have any spray oil that day. Our trip was Feb.-April 2016 and probably won't get back (finances and age!), just documenting it now to show and hopefully help others.
Re: your trip, glad to hear that. Most Aussies seemed surprised we were driving, particularly our 5600 km stint from Adelaide to Cairns, but that's how you see the country and meet people!
Following.

We stay in caravan parks here a lot and it's really common to see people from overseas with their food sticking to the bbq! Shame you won't be back. It's a big country and a lot to see! I drove around Australia with a friend from the US and we travelled for just under a year.

Following you to see more of your adventures :)

Wow - a year would be great! Especially if I knew how to use the barbies! We did see a lot but, like Canada, Oz is a big country!

It sure is. I've been to Canada a couple of times and really haven't seen much of it. Spent 5 weeks on the west coast and it was nowhere near long enough. I have family in Halifax, so I will definitely be back!

West coast, east coast - hate to say it because we're from Ontario, but sometimes there's not a lot in between!

Yep, I know!! Like I said, I will be back :)

I agree. A proper BBQ requires fire, not a hot piece of metal. Nice post. Safe travels!

Thanks for feedback. Trip was Feb.-April 2016, just documenting it now to show others and hopefully help some in their travels.

Congratz, you just have been resteemed by @pixresteemer!
(All right but who is pixresteemer?)

I love Perth and I loved your post. Like I was back for a while :).

Thanks for feedback - I think re-living our trip, being back for a while, is why I'm posting it!

True! In Portuguese we have this saying "recordar é viver" "remember is re-living"! You're welcome!

I love that saying! I will have to remember that one :)

What a wonderful tour! Looking forward to seeing more. Upped and steemed

Melinda - thanks for feedback and support - have you checked your windows today?

Can't wait to see the Alice Springs post, I hope to visit before I leave Oz!

Hopefully start tomorrow, might be a few posts because we spent a very long and amazing day touring out to Uluru and I don't think I can do it all in just one post. Following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53