Havasupai Falls (Part 2) - Mooney and Beaver Falls

in #travel8 years ago

After spending the night on my trusty blow up pool mattress it was time to get ready to go to two more additional falls. Mooney Falls and Beaver Falls. Mooney Falls is 200 feet high and the hike down is somewhat dangerous. You go through little caves and have to hold on to chains. I can imagine a lot of people getting hurt on the hike down.

If you are just tuning in to this series check out Havasupai Falls (Part 1)

Here is a picture of the group I was with. This was really about 2/3rds of the entire group but some people didn't go down to Mooney that early because they were still beat up from the 10 mile hike the day before. Even the kids made it down including little 5 year old Marley at the bottom left. People were shocked the kids were doing it too. I was worried they would suddenly get scared and freak out but they didn't at all.

It is pretty scary to get close to the edge at Mooney Falls. If you fell you would pretty much be dead.

Going Down!

Still another 100 Feet to go.

 

This is a look back up what I just climbed down. It is very slippery because of the spray from the falls.

A look from the bottom of Mooney Falls.

While hiking to Beaver Falls it makes me feel like I'm going to a lost city. For some reason it always reminds me of the movie Congo with all these vines around.

 

On the way to Beaver Falls there are tons of little water terraces.

You know you are almost to Beaver Falls when you get to this out of place palm tree that someone must have planted. It is doing really well in that spot!

Beaver Falls is an even larger set of these awesome water terraces.

 

This concludes Part two of the series. Will @brianphobos jump off some of the water falls? Is the water deep enough? Will he get injured? Follow me to find out!

Sort:  

Wow, that's some treacherous terrain to move around.

I can't imagine how some of the first people got down it to go lower on the falls.

As beautiful as it is, there is nothing that could get me down that ladder..well maybe one of my kids at the bottom needing help. but aside from that Nope never going to happen lol.

A lot of people are scared of that climb down. It is easier to come up because you can't see the huge drops unless you look back. One guy carried a dog down in a large pack. It looked worried. I didn't get a chance to get a picture of that.

Oh, that poor dog must have been terrified.

It probably didn't like that it wasn't in control of the situation. Plus it probably looked out and saw there was a 100+ foot death drop.

Those are some damn impressive pictures, beautiful falls as well!

Thanks, I appreciate it. I was carrying 3 cameras.

Thats dedication!

Wow, great shots. What an amazing place at the bottom!

Yeah it is a very unique place. It has to be one of the most beautiful places on the planet!

Wow awesome photos man! Uped and followed. Would love to go there. Makes my Norway waterfall look boring ;-) Do you make any longer films of your journeys? I'd certainly be interested to check it out if so.

Yeah I have longer videos of everything and that was going to be in Part 3. But I don't know if I'm going to post it at this point because this post has only made me $0.57.

Another beautiful set of shots.

Thank you. It was a lot of filming and taking pictures. I had 3 video cameras and the one camera I used for most of the still shots is a point and shoot. I didn't have the type of camera power that I had access to when Me, Matt, and Andy went on the big road trip up to Canada. That series is still ongoing but I wanted to get these Havasu Falls pictures and videos out there first.

Well it the shots still look really great.

Thanks. The camera I was mainly using for the still shots actually does a really good job despite not being a high end camera. It takes really good video as well. That is the same camera I typically do the pool meetings with.

Cool. I think it is down to the skill of the photographer - I would love to see what you could do with a pro camera.

When I first started on YouTube I had a pro-sumer video camera. Sony DCR-VX2100. I took a lot of cool shots with it. Then I got to work with my friends Canon 5D Mark II quite a bit. Unfortunately this is my last day on Steemit. I'm not even going to post the 3rd part of the Havasupai trip. I have some cool shots of me jumping off some of the cliffs but after this one has almost 300 upvotes and the payout is $3 and I spend an insane amount of time on all this it is time to retire from Steemit for now. My bot will be running and you are on the upvote list. I wish you luck and it seems like a long time ago but I think we joined around the same time and went hard. I remember us being part of Craig Grant's "craigrant Steem Power Mining Pool" before the follow button work. We went hard but now I'm packing it up for now. I wish you luck! Peace out!

Very cool location, the videos are a great touch. Resteemeed.

Thanks! I resteemed you as well.

Looks like an amazing place @brianphobos Lucky you.

It is probably one of the greatest places in the world. I have been lucky enough to go back there twice!

Beautiful place!

It really is amazing and the pictures don't do it justice. To be there and get in the water and feel the power of the waterfalls is unbelievable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61