Havasupai Falls (Part 1)

in #life7 years ago

Havasupai Falls and the other waterfalls on the Havasupai Native American reservation are other worldly. They look like something from the movie Avatar. The entire setting is nuts considering the town of Supai has no roads going to it and the only way to get supplies there is by mules or helicopter. The Havasupai reservation is up by the Grand Canyon in Northern Arizona. It is very hard to get a pass to go down there. I have heard from so many people that they will try to call in constantly for weeks and always get busy signals in an attempt to get the passes. That is why when I found out there was an opening to go I didn't hesitate.

Here is where it is on the map.

From the hill top parking lot you can either hike 10 miles to the camp ground, take a mule, or take the helicopter. Some people have the mule take their packs and then will just have a very light pack for the hike. All of us mainly carried our packs.

The hike down is nothing short of amazing. It starts out with vast open areas and then transitions to hiking through beautiful red rock canyons.

Though out the hike packs of mules will be going back and forth transporting people's packs, supplies, and even the United States mail.

Once you get to the town of Supai there is an office where you pay your money and also get your bracelets so they know you have reservations. You have to have prior reservations to even be down there. Here is a picture of the Helicopter dropping off supplies in the town. Again there are no roads into this town. There are no cars down there at all but there is WiFi which I didn't find out until I was leaving and there is Cell service if you have Verizon. Also most people have Direct TV satellite dishes on their roofs.

The first falls you see is Navajo falls. It looks amazing and my initial plan was to jump in and go swimming before I got to the camp ground but that didn't happen because I wanted to stay with the group so I knew where we were putting our stuff.

Finally you get to Havasupai Falls. A lot of people including myself call it Havasu Falls. It is 93 feet high.

I came up with the brilliant idea that I was going to just take a blow up mattress that I would float around in the pool with as my camping situation. This was one of the best decisions of my life. I got better camping sleep on this setup then any other setup I have ever had.

After setting up the camping spot we walked back to Havasu Falls to swim. It felt so good to get in the water and swim around. Feeling the power of the falls once again was an amazing feeling. It is hard to even get within 20 feet of where the water is hitting the pool. It is like being in a hurricane and it pushes you away from it.

After swimming in the falls and climbing around on the cliff to the left of the falls we went back to the campground to eat and drink alcohol. The next day wer were going to do the hike to Mooney Falls and Beaver Falls. I'm breaking this trip up into three parts since there were so many pictures and video. At this point in the trip we were pretty exhausted from the 10 mile hike to the camp ground and then the swimming at Havasu Falls. It is well worth the hike!

Thank you for viewing my post and please consider following me @brianphobos.

Sort:  

great shots! I need to visit Arizona!

Thanks! Arizona has a lot of different places to see. It really is a special place!

No tent? Just an inflatable lilo? I can't decide if you are really tough like Bear Grylls or just love that lilo.

I'm tough and kept a piece of tape over my mouth so spiders couldn't get in. LOL Just kidding about that part. But this really was a good decision.

Oh man, wonderful shots! What luck you found an opening to get a reservation to go down there too!

I got super lucky that a group of 19 people suddenly had a person drop out so I was able to jump in with that group. Thanks for checking out the post!

I've been looking forward to this post, and it didn't disappoint. Loved the pictures! And the inflateable matress is such a great idea! Ha ha.

Thanks! There will be at least 2 more parts to this series. I had the inflatable matress folded up and then I rolled my sleeping back up around it for the hike down and back up out of there. It worked really well.

It looks like an amazing place to visit!

It is unreal to say the least!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82