On the Luxury Coach to Kumasi - Your Life in God's HandssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel4 years ago (edited)

On the Road to Kumasi, Ghana, Africa
On the Road to Kumasi, Ghana, West Africa

I thought I’d left out much too early this morning to catch the luxury coach to Kumasi. It was barely 6 AM when I left the house, and already it felt as if I’d been out in the burning sun all day. I’m sweating like a roasting hog, even though I’m dressed in light cotton clothes, and am now seated on the so-called luxury coach to Kumasi.

Everyone else is sitting around me with not a bead of sweat on their brow. Ghanaians don’t seem to sweat that much unless doing arduous work out in the blistering heat. I just need to look at the sun, and I’m immediately dripping wet. Thank heavens it rained last night. The ground is a lot muddier because of it, but last night’s downpour has taken some glare from the sun this morning. It was bound to be a scorcher later today. The sun always came back with a vengeance after the rain.

It’s not enough that I’ve just had to endure a three-hour loading period at the bus station. The one where the obviously mentally ill Christian preacher has been telling us all that he was once pregnant but has now been saved by the whiteness of the light of Our Lord Jesus Christ. His Jesus will also help you become very, very rich if you just buy some holy water before our bus reaches Kumasi. He is on board with us now preaching and talking gibberish nonstop.

The man beside me in the front seat is dialling a number for the driver to talk by mobile phone while carrying a coach load of us speeding down the motorway. And they wonder why Ghana has some of the highest rates of road deaths in West Africa. There are no seatbelts upfront either, except for the driver, and low and behold, he actually has it on.

He’s got some local TV ‘drama’ playing on DVD but without the visuals. Only the audio. It’s so loud that I can hear every sound through my earpiece with the iPhone’s volume turned up full blast. All they seem to do in these homemade dramas is shout. No lulls or highs or dramatic material to mention. Just constant screaming, fighting, adultery and witchcraft for ‘don't-know-any-better poor people’ to laugh at while talking back at the TV set. And if the picture were working, they’d be watching some of the poorest TV production values you’re likely to see anywhere in the world, unless, of course, you never left this continent.

I do sometimes wonder what all those out of work black film folks are doing sitting around in the West when their skills, services and ideas are very much in demand in the Motherland. And not just them. I guess they just want a life in a world that’s already developed, but where there’s hardly any place for them to be somebody.

I Find It Hard To Say (Rebel)

I’ve taken to putting my foot over the speaker through which most of this dross is thumping out right in front of me, but the driver only turns up the volume. I’ve asked him politely to turn it down, twice. He gave me a sour look the second time and carried on speeding. I guess I’m just not Ghanaian enough or foreign enough for him to be concerned about. Instead of music, an international language we can all enjoy, he’s killing us with this madness pumped at full volume. Can’t even concentrate enough to read. All I can do is one-finger type this note of frustration, and the journey to Kumasi takes five more hours.

I’m wondering if these coach providers have any concept of customer service at all. Now the bloke squashed up beside me keeps coughing into his handkerchief and stretching across my face with his wobbly sweaty arm. Not a word of “excuse me” nor a sign of self-awareness does he express. He’s bought two apples, eaten them both and dropped the cores on the floor beside his feet and mine. And this is supposed to be the luxury coach to Kumasi?

You’d be surprised the number of people you find in Africa who will shit right in their own backyard without any thought for consequences. I think I’ll fly next time for 90 cedis, even if I would prefer to sit contemplating the rolling landscape by road with Lauryn Hill playing in my ear. Just four more hours of speeding to the Ghanaian cultural-capital that is Kumasi. God help us. Pray for me.

Sort:  

The one where the obviously mentally ill Christian preacher has been telling us all that he was once pregnant but has now been saved by the whiteness of the light of Our Lord Jesus Christ. His Jesus will also help you become very, very rich if you just buy some holy water before our bus reaches Kumasi. He is on board with us now preaching and talking gibberish nonstop.

Hahaha omg, I'm trying to hold my laugh, this eeks of Nigeria,...infact almost all of it, its insane I knowww....sorry I haven't been to Ghana, but there are a lot of parts of Nigeria that fits this description.......the pregnant pastor was hilarious....I was in a bus one day, a pastor started preaching I plugged in my earpiece at first, then I felt a little guilty and thought I should try to listen a bit to what he had to say, then lo and behold, the first thing he said was that his landlard sent mosquitos to kill him because he refused to pay his rent!!! I couldn't hold the laughter, the whole bus thought I was an evil child, i couldnt care....welcome to the West Africa

Thank you for this interesting insight into the life of people in Ghana. Here is some extra support for your work.

@tipu curate

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @boogieboa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.
You received more than 10 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 50

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The one where the obviously mentally ill Christian preacher has been telling us all that he was once pregnant but has now been saved by the whiteness of the light of Our Lord Jesus Christ. His Jesus will also help you become very, very rich if you just buy some holy water

Hello boogieboa, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Every day occurrence ,
or isolated wrong place,
wrong time.
Really enjoyed
your complete story line.
Bus on bredda.
Respect s-irie

Posted using Partiko iOS

Everyday occurrence, my bredda, everyday the same. That’s the way they do it. I can’t believe I lived there for six years. Thanks for the shoutout. Bless.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93