My Labor Day Road Trip 2019

in #travel5 years ago

My wife and I took a road trip over Labor Day weekend. We had no particular destination other than West Virginia. I'd never been to the state other than the two minute drive between Maryland and Virginia on road tips from Gettysburg, Pennslyvania, where we live and Texas where I grew up. I mean, you blink your eyes crossing the Potomac and Shenandoah rivers and you completely miss that you've driven through West Virginia.

So we decided to head to West Virginia, but no place in particular. We left just after 10 a.m., after I'd finished all the work I was going to do that day.

As we were crossing the Potomac, traffic was backed up enough that I was able to take the following picture with my smartphone.

potomac river

I bet you can tell it's undoctored. Courtesy LG.

So we drove. Through Maryland and into Virginia. Then my wife said, "Turn here. It will take you into West Virginia."

My wife grew up in Pennsylvania and had taken many road trips to Virginia and West Virginia. I've lived here since 2006 and have made a few through the states with a handful of jaunts to Harper's Ferry for some R&R with my family. We weren't taking any familiar routes. I trust my wife to be a faithful navigator, so I obeyed.

We ended up going across the Appalachian mountain range, up and down, and snakes around. Steep upgrades, steeper downgrades, hairpin curves, and death-defying scenery. I mean that literally. I could hardly keep my eyes on the road.

It was a country road. Paved. State highway. But not like any state highway I'd ever driven on. There were few towns and villages along the way, and that trip through the mountain eventually got us to West Virginia. It also took us back into Virginia. And then in West Virginia again. And back into Virginia.

I don't know how many times we crossed the state line because it was never marked. But I knew we were skirting the state line. In fact, once or twice we turned to head west and ended up going south--right back into Virginia again. The GPS told us so. In such cases, I'd find another road to turn on that was supposed to take us west, and it did, for a little ways, before turning south again.

At one point, we got to a T-crossing and I decided to turn right. No reason. It just seemed the thing to do. We discovered we were in Virginia headed north toward West Virginia. For those of you unfamiliar with American geography, West Virginia is west of Virginia. But it has a panhandle. And the panhandle is a small portion of the state that lies north of the westernmost part of Virginia and west of Maryland. We crossed over into West Virginia and discovered we were heading into a little town by the name of Berkeley Springs.

Here's the route we would have traveled had we drove the most direct way.

Route to Berkeley Springs

What we ended up doing is going through the mountain just south of Martinsburg. It took us about four hours because we were in no real hurry and had no real destination.

When we got into town, we went to a Motel 6, but they were booked. A nice old lady sitting in the lobby recommended a bed and breakfast around the corner. We checked it out. Inside that little B&B was a cute chapel that isn't used, but I took a picture of it any way. This is the view from the hallway just outside our bedroom door. There's a little glass window through which you can see the entire chapel. If you're Catholic, you can appreciate this.

We ate dinner at a nice little Mediterranean restaurant in town called the Naked Olive. I didn't see anyone naked, but I did get to eat an olive on top of my salad.

In the morning, we got up and walked the streets before heading out on our next adventure. Here are some of the sights we saw. All photos were taken by me on my smartphone.


Berkeley Springs was once named Town of Bath after Bath, England. The bathhouse was modeled after those found in the Old World for which the Somerset town was known.


In case you're wondering, yes, George Washington, the first president of the U.S., bathed here. It's blurry because my hand was shaking. I thought my wife was going to take off her clothes and get in.


We found this in a shop window. I thought it was interesting that a cheese shop is "open at other times" upon request. Just call. Contact information has been redacted.


This is why Plato said poets corrupt the youth. The shop was closed, so I couldn't pee on that.

This post originally appeared at Narrative.

All photos taken by me.

review me
Review Me, Please

PHC-Footer-05.gif


promo mentors

helpienaut

Sort:  

Off the beaten track, sounds like you had fun exploring something different. Finding Town of Bath, similar to Bath in the UK is interesting, so many hidden places where history has carried over from one continent to another.

Yes, it was a wonderful delight. Thanks for the drive-by! :-)

Thanks for writing this comment through TravelFeed.io!
You have received a 8% upvote from us. We hope to see you soon on TravelFeed.io!

I've been through Berkley Springs a couple times, and other parts of West Virginia. My last 6 months in the army I was stationed at a Nike missile site that was just a few miles from Weirton, and Wheeling wasn't that far from there either. I enjoyed the humor in your post as well as the pictures!

Thanks, glad you liked it. I was really impressed with this small town. I'm going to have to explore West Virginia a little more.

Those road trips off the beaten track are just the best @blockurator. It's how we prefer to travel, too. And those old roads... The Husband has a cousin who lives in Bath, England, and whose husband is from Somerset.

If you've ever been to Bath, you'd probably notice the resemblance of the bath house in Berkeley Springs, which used to be called The Town of Bath.

No, I've not been to Bath, but it's the setting of the some of the films of Jane Austen's novels so yes, I saw the resemblance immediately.

I grew up in Ohio on the border with West Virginia, but I don't think I've ever been to the places you mention. Nice to see the variety.

The trip made me realize how I need to get out more. lol

Roadtrip can sometimes help to release some tension!

Oh yes, it was a much needed excursion. Thanks for commenting.

My pleasure!

Great trip and nice article. Please use neoxian tag on your posts to get some additional rewards from www.neoxian.city. It is yet another general purpose tribe like palnet.

I will try to remember, but I honestly don't know what I'll do with all these rewards.

I am not able to see your pictures on my iPhone! When I get to my desktop I will check again.

I live in NC. Those winding mountain roads scare me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They weren't all that bad. The scary ones are on the west coast.

I made a pitstop here at your post my friend and glad that your wife didn't jump into George Washington's bath tub lol.
Amazing what discoveries lies in wait off the beaten track.
Blessings!

Ha ha Thanks! I think my wife was more worried about me jumping the bathtub. lol

Now that would have been headline news methinks.
Blessings!

Hey @blockurator

Sometimes, heading out with no real destination in mind is the best way to travel. It's very exciting.

Our favourite ever holiday was packing the car and setting off to France. We had no real plan other than I wanted to visit Alpe D'Huez, the famous Tour de France (cycling) mountain. At times it was a little stressful, not knowing where you were going to stay that evening, but it always seemed to work out. We had so much fun and Jayne, my wife, even met up with her old exchange student friend that she had not seen in years. They remain close and we visit often.

I was born and grew up in Bristol, right next to Bath. It's a beautiful city and we'll worth a visit if you every head over this way. The Roman history there is fascinating.

Great post. I enjoyed your adventure.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

A few years ago, my wife and I toured Germany in much the same way but by train. For 15 days, we traveled by train--and once by boat. We went from Frankfurt to Berlin to Hamburg to Koln, and then south to Heidelberg and the Bavarian region before ending up in Frankfurt again. That was a blast.

Sounds like a great trip. Using the train would be cool as well. Germany is a fantastic country to visit.

Yeah, we love Germany. Some day we'd like to go back.

That is an awesome road trip and you got to see George Washington's bathtub. How cool is that! Everyone should need to go on a road trip to get distract us from the usual daily routines.

Ha ha. Yeah, the bath tub was really interesting. Spring fed even.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60617.06
ETH 2405.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59