The Ancient Thai Fighting Style of Krabi-Krabong

in #travel7 years ago

This particular fighting style was developed for ancient Siamese warriors to use on the battlefield. The name refers to the 2 main weapons used which are the curved sword (krabi) and staff (krabong).

KRABI-KRABONG


We were lucky enough to see a demonstration of this beautiful fighting style at the Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok recently. It can be used in effectively together with the style of Muay Boran which utilizes a variety of kicks, strikes, holds and throws. The 2 young fighters put on a great show for us of their skill.


DEMONSTRATION



Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I liked very much what I saw in your profile very good articles, thanks for sharing I hope to continue enjoying your success articles and congratulations again.

I can tell these guys really know their stuff! I remember taking Tae Kwon Do back in college and it was a lot of fun. This, of course, looks to be a bit more advanced! Really cool, post! @bkkshadow

Upvoted

nice to see that you are tryig to keep traditions stand !

all I know is how to get beat up hahahaha

as a martial artist, i've never heard of krabi-krabong, great to know now !

Thanks for sharing, good day I Follow you, Follow me too and upvote. and any steemiters readers you can do that's and I will be following you. thank you.

You weren't tempted to jump in the fight?
Upvoted and followed you :)
If you're interested I just posted the second in my travel blog series here https://steemit.com/travel/@sixexgames/collegiate-church-of-st-patrick-and-other-views-of-lorca-spain-sixex-travel-2

Go back when I was in high school, we had krabi-krabong class :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40