Collegiate Church of St. Patrick and other views of Lorca Spain - Sixex Travel #2

in #travel7 years ago

Lorca was a border town between Christian and Muslim empires in the Middle ages. It's located in the Region of Murcia in Spain. It was only an hour bus ride from our home back in the city of Murcia, so me and a friend decided to check it out.

The Church

DSCF6668.jpg
When you walk into town, the most prominent building is the Collegiate Church of San Patricio (or St. Patrick). It's small but it's chraming inside and out. When we went inside there was a choir practice going on, so that provided a nice opportunity to just sit in the pews and chill out.
IMG_20170506_183855.jpg
As you can see there's no one in most of these pictures. We went on a Saturday which you'd think would be busy, but apparently everyone was at the beach.

The Castle

DSCF6673.jpg
This is Lorca Castle which was built by the Moors in the 13th Century. It has been conquered and changed hands many times since then. They had guided tours, but we had a good time with an audio guide. It's weird but there's also a hotel and spa in the back of the castle now. There was also a children's birthday party going on in the common area.
DSCF6669.jpg
I'd love to try firing that trebuchet.

IMG_20170506_194316.jpg
I wish this place was my Airbnb.

Other Sights

IMG_20170506_160708.jpg
An old building slowly falling apart without fanfare.

IMG_20170506_205431.jpg
On the map this "river" is blue.

DSCF6678.jpg
I'm king of all the squalor.

Overall Lorca was a nice, charming town to explore. Lorca Castle in particular was worth the visit.

If you like what you saw here, please upvote and follow me! I have many, many other travel experiences I'd like to share!

Never miss an opportunity to explore :) - Luke @sixexgames

Sort:  

Beautiful ♥ Resteemed ☻

Thanks Patrick, I'm just getting started so I think you'd be my first Resteem. Now I have to read about how that works haha

Happy research day ☻♥☻♥

Nice pictures! I voted and is now following you.

You can check out my latest post here; https://steemit.com/photography/@snuden/hakka-houses-tulou-in-longyan-china

Thanks, I liked your post as well!
That Hakka House looks pretty sweet.

Beeautiful. Looks like a nice journey :) I follow you to see more of your travel adventures :)

Awesome :) I'm hoping to keep up with one post like this per week.

Hello amazing post
if you like please visit me upvote & following
would be great help
Thanks XD

Great post! Followed and Updated! :)

Just saw this 6 days later haha
But yes, I'm following you as well :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sixexgames from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69