Travels With Connie #69 Little Streams Make Big Rivers

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

Snow Tracks-1.JPG

As I'm riding along I see lots of areas like this. Really steep alpine meadows that have obviously given up lots of snow the the streams and rivers in the area.

Snow Meadow-1.JPG

At one point I saw this meadow that had given up most of it's load already. I stopped to get a closer look and discoverd a little teeny stream that went right under the road.

TeenyStream2-1.JPG

It is incredibly obvious that this stream is not always so little teeny. Look at the load of trees that it has brought with it to the road. You have to look very carefully to even see water running here. Upper right center and lower left mid center.

TeenyStream3-1.JPG

This stream, like all the streams I saw in Glacier National Park features incredibly clear water. It is just barely running on this day, and still as clean as can be.

TeenyStream4-1.JPG

I stood there looking at the incredible trash pile that had accumulated and tried to imagine the force that would take to make. I had a hard time with it. The amount of water that it would take to make this pile is impressive.

TeenyStream 1-1.JPG

There are some big shattered logs in this tangle along with branches and root balls. There has really been a torrent wash through here in the very recent past.

TeenyStreamend-1.JPG

Then this is where it goes under the highway. You can clearly see the structure that was built and get a feel for how deep the culvert is. To build a simple structure that can handle the pressure of the obvious flood and not take the roadway out is an impressive bit of engineering in itself.

TeenyStreamConnie2-1.JPG

This is how our little stream looks from the road, with Connie in the frame for scale. It's pretty darn small all things considered.

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

What a scenic beauty! These meadows reminded me my journey of the Himalayan high grassland which are called 'bugyals' in local dialect.

Wow. I've never seen even photographs of those grasslands I don't believe. I know that the beauty and function of these meadows is impressive.

You can see the photos of the Himalayan meadows on internet. I also had posted some photos of there in my blog months ago.

Yea, having the bike it that last shot makes it all the more impressive as to the amount of debris and the amount of water it took to create that pile. Nice work Tom.

I really didn't stop there to look at the creek, there was a mountain shot that I wanted. As I got off the bike I looked at the little stream and the huge debris pile and was captivated by it. The more I looked, the more I got amazed.

For the record, I got the mountain shot that I wanted, too.

It was definitely an eye opener then. Glad you got a "twofer" there, you know, two fer the price of one.

I love your explanation. It is a very nice angle to view
Nice capture~

Thank you. I appreciate your support.

Aimlessly driving sounds pretty exciting! What a nice view you had! That stream really did some damage - it's amazing how powerful water can be!

Aimless driving is a very good thing!

It is such a contrast to a very constrained little stream that it really grabbed me. I had a hard time imagining that torrent rushing there.

Beautiful sceneries like last time.
Photos are so clear. Vitamins in my eyes ❤️

Oh, Joy. That's one of the nicest sayings ever. Thank you!

Wonderful photos again, feeling like I am along for the ride.

It is amazing how the little trickle of 'creeks' can become the swelling raging torrents of ice melt and rain in Spring, carrying Logs and embankments like light linen handkerchiefs.

That is such a good description. This little stream is just barely running, but it obviously was a torrent in the very recent past. I just love the way it showed up here.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 132 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Nature sure has a lot of power that we often forget about, these photos prove it and that first one is just gorgeous, absolutely gorgeous! 💚

Thank you. This little stream is not very obvious. I parked there to take another picture. But once I looked at it I was mesmerized.

Beautiful scenery! I can only imagine Mother Nature unleashed! That small river would have been a huge torrent to leave behind some many debris.

I kinda stopped right there by accident, I was looking to take a shot of a peak. I was just dumbfounded by what was there. I'll bet there are hundreds of those type of spots on that highway.

Thanks for stopping by!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 248 (9/05/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85