Travels With Connie #68 Up, Always Up

in #travel6 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.

There is a reason why they call them the Rocky Mountains. Their entire grandeur is made of hard rock. It is one of the most notable features anyplace in the range, but nowhere is it more noticable than Glacier National Park.

One of the really subtle points of Glacier is the snow fields. Even in the depth of summer when they are long gone you can see them and the result of the deep snow. In this photo you can see a spot that was burned several years ago but is just now starting to re grow forest. It's because the snow gets so deep and hangs around so long that the seedlings get out competed by the other brush.

In this photo you can really see the effects of the snow, where it came from, and where it goes. Note that there is running water directly in the center of this frame.

This is essentially the same view under different focal length. You can cleary see the water running and pooling on it's way down the mountain. It gathers into streamlets then streams then creeks and finally rivers. The cycle just goes on and on.

I met this guy in a pull out in the park. He obviously rides a sportier bike than Connie, and travels far lighter than we do. But he is another two wheeled traveler doing his thing. That qualifies him as a friend in my world.

As Gandalf told Frodo "Not all who wander are lost"

Thanks for coming along for the ride.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

As Gandalf told Frodo "Not all who wander are lost"

One cannot get much by going on the tasted path. Wanders get the things which sedentary can never imagine of. Carry on your journey sir.

Thank you. I agree with your assessment entirely. I am legendary for going where the front wheel takes me and wouldn't be any other way.

The Rocky Mountains sure looks grand @bigtom13, beautiful photos! Enjoy your travels :)

Thank you Lizelle. I do enjoy the traveling and the sharing!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 245 (9/02/18)

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Stunning views. Thank you for taking us to your lovely adventure.

It makes me so happy to have you along!

"Not all who wander are lost"
I like that! Nice photos and mountains and rivers...
Thanks for sharing @bigtom13!!!
/FF

My favorite line in all of Hobbitness. It has been my motto for quite some time.

Im with you on that one @bigtom13!
/FF

Spectacular views an area I have never seen trhanks for sharing

Always happy to have you here. I obviously really like the place.

photos are amazing!! i cant tell the size based on my phone but i love themmmmmmm ty for sharing. had to check your size 😂🤣😂🤣

hey youre here in CO??

Northern Montana. The peaks probably aren't as spectacular as your Western Range, but pretty spectacular none the less.

I love riding Colorado, crisscrossing passes :) Some of the best motorcycle roads on earth are there. For the record I think my favorite pass is Rabbit Ears (Cumbres) in the south. I just love that area and that road. And the headwaters of the San Juan are in that part of the world. One of my favorite rivers.

@bigtom13 heh? so this is why i am confused as to where you are or are you just livin on the road? i see you going around a lot. are you in an RV? if i got to cortez how much time do you need to get there? LOL
yeah i dunno CO is dangerous these days, tons of ppl coming in and driving like asshats ... a lottt of accidents.

No, I have a place in Yuma, AZ. I have seriously considered selling the place and buying a 'toy hauler' that would bunk me and Sam and two motorcycles. I have not done so yet.

I'm thinking I better say two days to Cortez. It hasn't been so long ago that would be a good hard one day ride, but my butt seems to be getting old. It's all by motorcycle for me, I don't own a car. Haven't for about 3 years.

ok bc you said we can have coffee and you had a place to stay in cortez so thought you were in cortez living at least partially.

Good to see your getting about and out of the land of red mountains. It's a bit different further north.

I actually love my red mountains, but it IS wonderful to get to the hard rock mountains, too. The scenery is so spectacular. Literally where ever you look.

Mountains, mountains, and more mountains! I am so jealous honey, nature looks absolutely breathtaking 💚

It is simply breath taking. It's getting to be a long series for me, but as I go through the photos I get so many 'Oh Wow' moments that it's crazy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63204.10
ETH 2560.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79