Travel Photography - Turkey

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

My last set of photos was well received so here is entry #2. I can say without a doubt that, overall, Turkey was the most fascinating place I have ever traveled to. Turkey is HUGE and there are so many cultural, historic, and geological wonders to behold. I spent almost two weeks in Turkey but one could easily spend two weeks in Istanbul alone. Turkey was also my first (and only) time in a Muslim majority country. Here are some of my favorite pics from the trip:

The Blue Mosque:
bluemosquenight-e.jpg

BlueMosque1.JPG

Hagia Sophia: A Greek Orthodox Christian basilica - turned - imperial mosque
Saint Sofia.JPG

saintasofia3.JPG

sofiatop.JPG

Capadoccia: A region of porous soft rock, hollowed and carved by ancient volcanic activity. Ancient peoples made homes out of the spires and caves...I suppose they still do today too because my hotel room was in a cave!

valley1.JPG

cap5.JPG

spires.JPG

cap2.JPG

oldcavehome1.JPG

cavechurch.JPG

Pamukkale: That isn't snow and ice...it is a mountain of mineral deposits from a spring. Imagine how long it took to form...

pamu1.JPG

pamu2.JPG

pamu4.JPG

pamu6.JPG

Hierapolis: The ancient city on top of that white mountain

heira.JPG

agora1.JPG

Eternal Flame of Chimera: Here, a gas mixture seeping from deep within the rock, ignites when it hits the open air. These flames have been burning for a very, very long time. FYI: It smells like butane!

chimaera1.JPG

chimaera2.JPG

chimaera3.JPG

chimaera4.JPG

A harbor queue in Istanbul:
harbor2-e.jpg

Ephesus: The world's best preserved Roman ruins. There are billions of pics of this place online. It was swarmed with tourists and I have never seen so many tour buses in my life! So here's just one pic of the place from me.

ephesus8.JPG

Olympos: An ancient, now overgrown. city nestled in canyons on the coast of the Mediterranean Sea. It was a real treat to roam through this quiet, ancient place.

olympos1.JPG

olympos2.JPG

romangate.JPG

olympos5.JPG

Other stuff:

cat2-e.jpg

Lamp2.JPG

sweetscloseup.JPG

Thanks for looking. Keep traveling!

Here are the Iceland Photos: https://steemit.com/photography/@big-lou/travel-photography-iceland

Sort:  

Oh man... this is also on my bucket list, my girl went to Turkey long ago and she freaking loved it (before we met). She has a bunch of pictures, and a lot of stories to tell, but there is quite a few things here (specially the temple) that I'm pretty sure she did not see.

Also on the very important side, their food is stooopid good, I can't imagine what a falafel or a shawarma from "the origin" has to taste like.

What did you think of their desserts?

I ate way too much baklava and Turkish delight..waaaay too much 😂. Rose flavored Turkish delight is my fav

I loved your post and photos! I've always wanted to visit Turkey one day... did you travel recently to Turkey? Did you find it safe?

I went years ago. I think we can say with certitude it was safer then but I'm sure it's still fine now.

Çok iyi! Türkiye seviyorum.

My Turkish is a little rusty...ok pretty much non-existent actually 😫

Aaah I said “very good, I love Turkey!”

Impressive photos.

I've never been to Turkey but one of my co-workers is from there so I have heard quite a bit about it.

It might be useful for you to check out the SteemitWorldMap project :

Thanks, I'll check it out. Do go to Turkey, secure at least two weeks minimum!

Congratulations @big-lou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for this wonderful documentation @big-lou! Really makes you want to go discover Turkey!!

Turkey is one of the country with mabye interesting gtradition and culture , People outthere are still confrunting principles and more .
Even thought it is nice to see some parts of the things that are speccific to the country and particular regions .

Turkey is the great tourist place in the world. There we can find the people from various countries. and in istanbul we can see the olden construction before300 years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54