You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel to find your true desire

in #travel8 years ago

Thanks for the inspiration. Might do some writing on this topic.
Done a bit of travelling myself, but it has changed.
I no longer travel to see scenic landscapes or exciting cities.
Travelling takes me to friends, new friends and projects.
And - being there, working with them - I briefly and intensely connect with the other place.
For instance, London is not parties, pubs or London Eye to me.
London is the feeling of helping friends restore victorian building owned by an idealist group. February, bloody cold. Working together with Polish, German, American and English friends on the scaffolding, then packing my stuff, change clothes and - still with dust on my face - have a friend drive me to the station to catch the Gatwick Express.
Westminster bridge, the tourists line up and a ray of sun breaks the clouds while I am lounging in the leather seat of my friend's new 5er BMW. Unforgetable.
Volunteer work is travel 2.0 ;-)

Sort:  

Nice story, glad that I could inspire you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44