Before you pack # Pro travel tip - Always pack a spare wallet with these 4 items!

in #travel7 years ago

There aren't many things that get you more excited than packing for a next trip. Traveling lets you experience all the wonderful cultures that make up our world. In this excitement it's easy to forget things while packing or make mistakes. Forgetting to bring your toothpaste is a common occurrence. There's one thing I surely always have with me and that is a spare wallet!

I always pack a spare wallet for emergency reasons. Even though I never had to use it - knock on wood - It's still good to have with me. You can loose your wallet, get robbed or someone might pickpocket you. Bring this wallet with you, I put this in my carry-on and have my regular wallet on me. Next you should keep it safe in your accommodation. So here are the 4 items you should have in this spare wallet.

1. A copy of your ID, passport and/or driver's license

Losing one of these items while being abroad can lead to a lot of problems. Flying home without a photo ID can be very difficult. Hotels/hostels can decline you as well. If you loose your ID, you have to go to the police and get a police report. The police report in combination with a copy of your photo ID will always get you home.

If you're traveling with a partner, make sure to let them keep a copy in their wallet too. In case you loose yours, you still have a backup on-hand in case you need it.

2. Spare bank card/credit card with an emergency fund

Nothing is worse than being stranded completely without cash. You still need to pay for your accommodation/transportation and food. This can be difficult without any money. I make sure there's enough money on it to take a flight home in case of an emergency.

3. Emergency cash

Having an emergency cash reserve can't do any harm. You might not have immediate access to an ATM to retrieve money from your emergency fund. The amount really depends on the country you're visiting. In most countries, I don't even have emergency cash in there because there are ATM's at every corner. But that's not the case for every destination and you might find yourself stuck without any bank close by.

4. Phone number(s)

If you get robbed they might not only leave with your wallet, but also with your phone. Keep a note with the most important phone number in your spare wallet. Any number who can help you in case you loose your wallet or phone. Do not only store the number of your parents/friend at home, but also your travel-partner. In case you loose each other, you can find a way to contact him/her that you're okay and where you are.


Thank you for reading! I hope this post was very helpful and I love to see you below in the comments :)


More of my before you pack series

Travel tips
How to travel around in Europe on a budget!
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/before-you-pack-how-to-get-around-in-europe-on-a-budget

5 Things you should do while visiting
Ghent, Belgium
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/before-you-pack-ghent-belgium-5-things-you-should-do-while-visiting-ghent

Florence (Firenze), Italy
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/before-you-pack-florence-italy-5-things-you-should-do-while-visitng-florence-firenze

Rome, Italy
https://steemit.com/travel/@beforeyoupack/before-you-pack-rome-5-things-you-should-do-while-visiting-rome

Sort:  

Great tips, it sound obvious but it will really help. keep the tips coming

There have been a few tips that I have forgotten charging cables or dropped them along the way- a complete nightmare!!

I can only imagine!

Written for me! I am travelling so much and I should follow them, thanks :)

Thank you for stopping by. Happy travels!

Tanks you too, I like your account :)

I also keep spare wallet.. and great tips!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39