Loving Amsterdam

in #travel8 years ago

I've had a great few days here in Amsterdam. This city works like none I've ever been to before and it's given me some food for thought.

One of the things I've thought about is how wonderfully accommodating this city is for the disabled. With a road for every type of commuter, all over the country, it really seems to be the perfect city to live in for getting around. And even without losing the use of my legs there are many reasons to consider Amsterdam as a wonderful place to live.

A heavily populated city and country are some of the reasons transport systems here are so well organised. With so much building to house this population there is also a need for forest areas. I visited the 'Forest of Amsterdam' or Amsterdamse Bos yesterday where they have a cute little petting zoo.


If you love pancakes you will love the Netherlands!



Something else I've thought a lot about is the legalisation of marijuana for personal use here. What people may not realise when coming here is that it is actually not legal to smoke it anywhere you like, but there is a strong smell of the plant everywhere you go because generally the people smoking it are not causing any trouble.

I have been against the idea if legalising marijuana in Ireland, not because I have anything against people who use it, but because I had a fear of Dublin becoming a tourist haven for that purpose. Having never been to Amsterdam until now my notions it turns out were actually pretty silly.

I've only been here for a few days so I don't think I'm in a place to just decide legalising weed would be good for other cities, but i will say that I am relieved by what I have seen here. It is true that you can smell it everywhere as you walk around the city and this gave me a somewhat seedy expectation. But instead of witnessing junkies causing people trouble I have not always been able to tell who it is among the civilised people around me who are smoking it.

If you are interested here is a great post that was shared with me on avoiding tourist traps when exploring Amsterdam coffeeshops.

Ireland already has a serious problem with alcohol abuse which is legal, and pretty heavy drug abuse such as heroin which is not. Substance abuse happens everywhere whether the substances being abused are legal or not. Just being in this city without actually tryng the stuff myself my perceptions are completely changed, mainly because my experience of drunks in Dublin, makes these casual smokers seem totally respectable. In fact they probably are totally respectable! There is no reason to assume they could be involved in illegal drug dealing like there is a tendency to in Ireland.
I now wonder if in 100 years time people will be shocked to learn in history class that a substance so innocent was illegal.

And thankfully Amsterdam is not all about the weed or prostitution for that matter. I did take a walk through the district. But I did not stop. I figure those women in the windows don't see themselves as a tourist attraction. As far as that are concerned they are working and the tourists get in the way of their work. I'm told that if you try to take pictures your phone will end up in the canal, and rightly so.

One of the most wonderful things about Amsterdam was of course the canals. I have been to Venice and recommend it for a visit as it is a must see. But Amsterdam is different because it is lived in by people from all kinds of backgrounds whereas Venice is occupied by tourists and every business is in business just to serve the tourist so there is not much authentic about it. But you have to see Amsterdam and the moving bridges to believe it.

Sort:  

Ireland, Marijuana and sex as tags. But not Netherlands or Amsterdam. Fair enough.

Well this is the problem with steemits current tagging system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57910.39
ETH 2452.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35